Subject Guides

Public Health

Welcome to the Public Health Library Guide! This home page has information about resources and databases, new books, and linking Google Scholar to Binghamton University resources. Use the tabs on the left (above if on mobile) to navigate the site for a variety of information including my contact information.

I also invite you to explore the healthcare page of our Anti-Racism Research and Resource Guide.

Public Health Databases

Below are selected databases that are useful for public health related information. Find more here.
Need a general reference resource? Try AccessScience or a places-to-start databases!

Health / Medical Focused Databases

CINAHL Ultimate Extensive coverage of nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health. Full text of the most influential journals in nursing. Covers publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing.Includes health care books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts and educational software.

MEDLINE Authoritative medical information from such fields as medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences.
PubMed From the National Library of Medicine. Includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

Dynamed
Clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,400 topics, DynaMed provides the latest content and resources with validity, relevance and convenience. DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians, residents, nurse practitioners and other healthcare professionals for use at the point of care.
UpToDate Provides information on over 9500 clinical topics in 20 specialties.

CDC National Center for Health Statistics
WHO IRIS
Workd Health Organization (WHO) global digital library - online access to WHO published material.

Additional Public Health Related Databases

Academic Search Ultimate A multidisciplinary database covering topics in all fields of study.
Web of Science Indexes "over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide ... and over 160,000 conference proceedings." Covers the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, from 1900.

Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine OneFile Covers fitness and sports, offering a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
PsycINFO (APA) Covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. Coverage: 1887-current.

Social Explorer Includes the US Decennial Census history from 1790-2010, annual updates from the American Community Survey, the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980-2000, and selected election and carbon emissions data. Users can customize, save, print, export and email maps and reports.
Environment Complete Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
PAIS International Covers issues in public affairs and policy issues through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources. Coverage: 1915 - present.
Business Source Ultimate Journals in all disciplines of business. Includes industry reports, market research, financial data, case studies, investment research reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses. Coverage: 1866-present.

Cochrane Library Contains evidence-based articles, reviews, protocols, clinical trials, technology assessments, and economic evaluations.

CDC WONDER "WONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are also available."
Data.gov "The home of the U.S. Government’s open data"
Science.gov "Searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results."

New Books!

Below are the print books purchased in the last year and the e-books purchased in the last 4 months that focus on Public Health. We have MANY other books coming in on various health and medical topics. Check out the Books tab on this guides for information on how to search for books.

Historical Resources

Journals

Other Resources

Gale Case Studies: Intersectional LGBTQ Issues and Public Health Issues
Studies built around primary sources looking at issues involving LGBTQA issues or Public Health issues
JSTOR
Primarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
JSTOR has a "moving wall," which represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Publishers determine the moving wall length in their license agreements with JSTOR. Moving walls may range from zero to ten years, and those with walls from zero to seven years participate in our revenue sharing program. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
America: History & Life with Full Text
Literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1700 journals, provides full text of 200 titles.
The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.

The Mother of All Pandemics: The State of Black Death Research in the Era of COVID-19. View the webinar on YouTube and the associated bibliography in this Google Doc.

Hathitrust

Google Scholar

Google Scholar promotes itself as a resource that provides one-stop shopping for scholarly literature. It searches across many disciplines and covers a wide variety of resources, including journal articles, theses, books, abstracts, and more. Although Google Scholar is aimed at the academic community, it uses a very broad definition of "scholarly literature." Remember that the content isn't free or necessarily available in full-text. It is important to realize that not everything, or even most, in Google Scholar is peer reviewed.

If you find an article you like that has a pay wall, don't pay - see if the library has it or request it through ILL. You can customize Google Scholar to display the Get It! link so you can get access to some articles through the library.

The Get It! link will automatically occur in Google Scholar searches done on campus. For off campus users:

1. Go to Google Scholar at http://scholar.google.com.

2. Before doing a search click on the Settings icon at the top of the page.

3. Type "Binghamton University" in the the "Library Links" box and select "Binghamton Universit - Get It!."

4. Click Save.

5. The Get It! link will now appear each time you search Google Scholar. (If you are off campus, you will need to log in once you click the Get It! link to get access.)