Subject Guides

Public Health

Database Tutorials

The Database Tutorial Guide will provide videos and tutorials to help you navigate the most popular databases more effectively and efficiently.

For more guidance navigating any database, please contact the Public Health librarian: llipke@binghamton.edu

Public Health Databases

Academic Search Ultimate
Covers over 11,000 journals in all fields of study.
Peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
America: History & Life with Full Text
Literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1700 journals, provides full text of 200 titles.
The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
APA PsycTESTS
Database of psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessment tools. Contains a wide range of test types, including test batteries, questionnaires, rating scales, surveys, along with descriptive information about each test, such as how they were developed and administered.
OVer 73,000 records for + test types and instruments including aptitude tests, personality scales and cognitive functioning measures. Research instruments available as PDF downloads or multimedia files. Select measurements available in more than 40 languages.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)
Covers health, social services, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional. ASSIA currently contains over 375,000 records from over 500 journals published in 16 different countries, including the UK and US.
Business Source Ultimate
Journals in all disciplines of business. Includes industry reports, market research, and SWOT analysis.
Also includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses. Coverage: 1866-present.
CINAHL Ultimate
Extensive coverage of nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health. Full text of the most influential journals in nursing.
Covers publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing.Includes health care books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts and educational software.
Cochrane Library
Contains evidence-based articles, reviews, protocols, clinical trials, technology assessments, and economic evaluations.
Environment Complete
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Contains more than 2,183,500 records from more than 1,900 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including over 1,100 active core titles) as well as more than 130 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 750 journals.
Gale Case Studies: Intersectional LGBTQ Issues and Public Health Issues
Studies built around primary sources looking at issues involving LGBTQA issues or Public Health issues
MEDLINE with Full Text
Full text of authoritative medical information from such fields as medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences.
PAIS Index
Covers issues in public affairs and policy issues through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources. Coverage: 1915 - present.
Covers journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
PsycINFO (APA)
Covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. Coverage: 1887-current.
PubMed
From the National Library of Medicine. Includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Social Explorer
Provides access to US decennial census data from 1790 to 2010, American Community Survey data and selected business, economic, crime, health, environmental and religious data. It does not include data for all census geographies, particularly for earlier decennial censuses. Users can customize, save, print, export and email reports and maps
Web of Science
Covers the citation indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports
Also includes BIOSIS Citation Index, Data Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Derwent Innovation Index. Medline (1950-present), Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and Zoological Records.