Subject Guides
Public Health
News/Legislation/Policy Sources
- Access World NewsFull text of regional and local newspapers for all US states and international sources.
- Brookings InstituteThe Brookings Institution is a nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C. Our mission is to conduct in-depth, nonpartisan research to improve policy and governance at local, national, and global levels.
- CDC: Public Health PolicyThe health of our nation is influenced by public health policies. The resources below provide information about CDC offices and programs that focus on policy-related matters and on various laws, regulations, and policies that have public health implications.
- Duke Margolis Institute for Health PolicyCenter at Duke focused on developing and implementing evidence-based policy solutions locally, nationally, an globally.
- Global Health Policy CenterCSIS' Global Health Policy Center (GHPC) is a leading policy research institution focused on building bipartisan awareness about global health and its importance to U.S. national security.
- Harvard Catalyst: Policy AtlasA comprehensive database of policy and public health data for researchers, policymakers, and community advocates
- Kaiser Family FoundationThe Kaiser Family Foundation is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy.
- National Center of State LegislaturesNCSL conducts policy research in areas ranging from agriculture and budget and tax issues to education and health care to immigration and transportation. NCSL’s experts are here to answer your questions and give you unbiased, comprehensive information as soon as you need it on issues facing state legislatures. We answer more than 20,000 requests for information a year.
- RANDRAND is a research organization that develops solutions to public policy challenges to help make communities throughout the world safer and more secure, healthier and more prosperous.
Specialized Resources
- CDC: Community Assessment & Health Improvement PlanningA community health assessment, also known as community health needs assessment, refers to a state, tribal, local, or territorial health assessment that identifies key health needs and issues through systematic, comprehensive data collection and analysis
- Child Welfare Information GatewayChild Welfare Information Gateway is your connection to trusted resources on the child welfare continuum. We provide publications, research, and learning tools selected by experts to support thriving children, youth, families, and communities.
- LILACS: Latin American and Caribbean Health Science LiteratureThe most important and comprehensive database of LA&C with more than 880 thousand records of peer reviewed journals, thesis and dissertations, government documents, annals of congresses and books, published since 1982
- Maternal and Child Health LibraryThe Maternal and Child Health (MCH) Digital Library provides access to current evidence to support State Title V programs, community agencies, educators, students, researchers, policymakers, and families. The library also provides access to seminal and historic materials from federal, state, and local programs. The overarching goal of the library is to serve the MCH community with accurate, reliable, and timely information and resources.
- National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and AlcoholismThe mission of the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism is to generate and disseminate fundamental knowledge about the adverse effects of alcohol on health and well-being, and apply that knowledge to improve diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of alcohol-related problems, including alcohol use disorder, across the lifespan.
- World Health Organization: Public Health Research AgendaThis public health research agenda for infodemic management was developed by WHO. The aim is to foster a coordinated and evidence-based approach to ensure universal access to reliable health information.
- Gale Case Studies: Intersectional LGBTQ Issues and Public Health IssuesStudies built around primary sources looking at issues involving LGBTQA issues or Public Health issues
Multicultural Resources
- Health Information in Multiple LanguagesFind trusted, understandable information from MedlinePlus on health topics related to the All of Us Research Program. All of Us is an NIH effort to gather health information from one million or more people living in the United States to accelerate medical research and improve health.
- BRYCS: Bridging Refugee Youth & Children's ServicesPromotes culturally competent health care for refugees and immigrants. Based at the State University of New York Institute of Technology library, this web site focuses on the diverse health beliefs of various cultures as well as cross-cultural interactions between health care providers and patients.
- EthnoMedWe provide information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and other topics related to the health care of immigrants to the US, many of whom are refugees.
Evidence Repositories
These sites provide collections of evidence-based public health interventions, programs, and practices. They are intended for public health workers, practitioners, and researchers.
- Blueprints for Healthy Youth Development
The Blueprints mission is to identify outstanding violence and drug prevention programs that meet a scientific standard of effectiveness.
- The Community Guide
A collection of evidence-based findings of the Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF). Identifies evidence-based interventions to improve health and prevent disease in the U.S.
- Evidence-Based Cancer Control Programs (EBCCP)
Searchable database of evidence-based cancer control programs for public health workers
- Healthy People 2030’s Evidence-Based Resources
Evidence-based resources aligned with the Healthy People 2030 initiative, organized by topic.
- National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO)
Program repository for health department staff, including toolboxes, publications, and model practices.
- NICE (UK National Institute for Health Care Excellence)
Evidence-based recommendations developed by independent committees, including professionals and lay members, and consulted on by stakeholders in the UK.
- SAMHSA Evidence-based Practices Resource Center
Searchable database of interventions for mental health and substance use
- Social Programs that Work
Social policy-focused programs with credible evidence from well-conducted RCTs of important effects on people’s lives
- U.S. Preventative Services Task Force
The U.S. Preventive Services Task Force is an independent, volunteer panel of national experts that makes evidence-based recommendations about clinical preventive services.
- What Works for Health | County Health Rankings
Tool to find policies and programs that are a good fit for a community's priorities from County Health Rankings.
Social Determinants of Health Resources
- Native Health DatabaseThe Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American Indigenous peoples.
