Subject Guides
Public Health
Suggested Epidemiology Resources
- EmbaseCovers the most important international biomedical literature with all articles indexed in depth. It includes: over 32 million records, including MEDLINE titles; over 8,500 journals from over 95 countries, over 2,900 indexed journals unique to Embase; over 2.3 million conference abstracts indexed from more than 7,000 conferences dating from 2009; and full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data.
- PubMedFrom the National Library of Medicine. Includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
- Web of ScienceCovers the citation indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports
- World Development IndicatorsContains statistical data for over 800 development indicators and time series data from 1960 for over 220 countries and country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. See the Data Manual for information on what is covered.
- World Health OrganizationWHO is the United Nations agency that connects nations, partners and people to promote health, keep the world safe and serve the vulnerable – so everyone, everywhere can attain the highest level of health.
Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health by ISBN: 0323642012Publication Date: 2020-01-29
Medical Epidemiology: Population Health and Effective Health Care, Fifth Edition by ISBN: 9780071822725Publication Date: 2015-05-08
- CDC National Center for Health Statistics
The National Center for Health Statistics is an agency which provides statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of America.
- Global Health Observatory (WHO)
The Global Health Observatory is the World Health Organization's repository of health-related statistics that monitor progress toward Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).
- Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR – CDC)
The MMWR series is the CDC’s primary vehicle for scientific publication of public health information and recommendations.
- Weekly Epidemiological Record (WHO)
The Weekly Epidemiological Record (WER) serves as an instrument for the rapid and accurate circulation of epidemiological information on cases and outbreaks of diseases. The WER is accessible every Friday and can be downloaded free of charge.
- Behavior Risk Factor Surveillance System
The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the nation's premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.
- Health, United States (CDC)
This is an annual report is an annual report on trends in health statistics.
- National Health Interview Survey
NHIS data is a great source of information regarding health of the population that is used to monitor trends in illness and disability and to track progress toward achieving national health objectives.
- US Census Bureau
The Census Bureau's is a great source of data about the United States' people and economy.
- Wide-Ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research (WONDER CDC)
Welcome to CDC WONDER -- Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research -- an easy-to-use, menu-driven system that makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large.
- ERIC Notebook
ERIC Notebook was published as an e-periodical from 1999-2008 by the Epidemiologic Research and Information Center (ERIC) at the Veterans Administration Medical Center in Durham, NC, in collaboration with the Department of Epidemiology at the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health.
