Subject Guides

French

Guide Contents

Film Studies Databases

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals
Indexes over 500,000 articles from academic and popular film journals. Also includes the International Index to TV Periodicals, Treasures from the Film Archives, silent film holdings archives and International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.
This film studies database was created by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF). Coverage: 1972 - present.

See also the CINEMA Subject Guide

Web Sites

The French site AlloCine provides basic information.

The Internet Movie Database, in English, is very comprehensive and includes links to reviews.

FrenchFilms.org has lots of information about directors.

Streaming VIdeo

Finding and Using Streaming Video
by Sarah Maximiek Last Updated Apr 2, 2025 102 views this year

Academic Video Online AVON
Academic Video Online offers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
See Find and Using Streaming Video for information.

Relevant Print and Electronic Books

Analyzing Literature-To-Film Adaptations by Mary H. Snyder
Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of French Film Directors by Philippe Rège
Call Number: Bartle Reference PN1998.2 .R444 2010 v.1-2
ISBN: 9780810861374
Publication Date: 2009-12-11
Now a Major Motion Picture by Christine Geraghty
Call Number: Fine Arts Collection Stacks PN1997.85 .G47 2008
ISBN: 9780742538207
Publication Date: 2007-09-27

Last Updated: Feb 12, 2025 3:50 PM
URL: https://libraryguides.binghamton.edu/french
Print Page

Subjects: Comparative Literature, French