Subject Guides
- Binghamton University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Subject Guides
- French
- French Culture: Online Libraries, Web Gateways and Primary Resources
French
Guide Contents
Online Libraries and Primary Resources
- GallicaGallica est la bibliothèque numérique de la Bibliothèque nationale de France et de ses partenaires. En ligne depuis 1997, elle s’enrichit chaque semaine de milliers de nouveautés et offre aujourd’hui accès à plusieurs millions de documents. It currently includes digitized versions of over 633,000 books and many more thousand maps, videos, manuscripts and other documents.
- Consortium of European Research Libraries
Promoting Europe's cultural heritage in print and manuscript
CERL seeks to share resources and expertise between research libraries with a view to improving access to, as well as exploitation and preservation of the European printed heritage in the hand-press period (up to c. 1850).
CLICK ON THE PORTAL TO ACCESS PRIMARY RESOURCES - British Library Digitized Manuscripts
The Digitised Manuscripts site contains many different kinds of manuscripts, archives and documents. Much of the content available here has been digitised as part of the British Library’s digitisation projects. Included are Medieval England and France, 700-1200
The national libraries of Great Britain and France have joined efforts in ‘The Polonsky Foundation England and France Project: Manuscripts from the British Library and the Bibliothèque nationale de France, 700-1200’ to digitise 400 illuminated manuscripts from each collection. - RFN: La bibliothèque francophone numérique
La bibliothèque du réseau francophone numérique regroupe des collections patrimoniales de onze bibliothèques de Belgique, Suisse, Luxembourg, France, Canada, Maroc, Sénégal, Côte d’Ivoire, Madagascar, Haïti, Egypte pour la découverte, l’étude et l’apprentissage de 300 millions de francophones.
Web Gateways
Official website of the French Ministère de la Culture. 
This page can be explored in several ways, including by Thématiques (Literature, Cinema, Culture, etc.) or by Region.
- France.fr- the official website of tourism in France
In English, French and several other languages, this website describes itself: "Prepare your trip to France. Practical information, cultural experiences , best destinations , vacation ideas." - L’Office du Tourisme et des Congrès de Paris
A multilingual site with information for tourists about activities, transportation, accommodations, museums, restaurants and more. - French Embassy in the United States
The Cultural Services is a division of the French Embassy in the United States.Today, under the leadership of Bénédicte de Montlaur, Cultural Counselor of the French Embassy and Permanent Representative of French Universities in the United States, the French Cultural Services promotes the best of French arts, literature, cinema, language, and higher education in the US. There is a link to French Language resources.
The ARTFUL Project Public Databases: Founded in 1982 as a result of a collaboration between the French government and the University of Chicago. ARTFL supports many Public Access databases including the Dictionnaires d'autrefois, the Encyclopédie of Diderot and d'Alembert, and the Bibliothèque Bleue de Troyes. (Note: ARTFL offers other databases by subscription, but they are not available to B.U. at this time.)
History of France-Primary Documents via EuroDocs. EuroDocs links connect to Western European (mainly primary) historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries (and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history). The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.
Resources Internet Francophones
From CUNY's Lehman College focuses on all French-speaking areas of the world. The resources are organized by region, including Africa, the Caribbean, Louisiana and Quebec.
iLoveLanguages French section
Lists 70+ sites, covering, for example, dictionaries, grammars, online courses, online electronic texts and media.
The ARTFUL Project Public Databases: Founded in 1982 as a result of a collaboration between the French government and the University
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online
A digital collection of books, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, ephemera, and maps that cover politics and society, literature, spirituality, technology and more.
- ParHistoireInformation service about the history of Paris drawing on the
resources of a wide variety of the city's libraries, archives and museums.
