Subject Guides

French

Guide Contents

Citing Images

For Citing Images in your papers, presentations, handouts, etc., please see the Libraries' Citing Images Guide.

News

First link is to front page of newspaper only. Last link if library has access to full text via aggregator.

Le Monde Journal d'information en ligne, Le Monde.fr offre à ses visiteurs un panorama complet de l'actualité. Découvrez chaque jour toute l'info en direct (de la politique à l'économie en passant par le sport et la météo) sur Le Monde.fr, le site de news leader de la presse française en ligne. Le Monde via Bartle Library

Le Figaro is a conservative French newspaper.

Liberation is a left-leaning French newspaper.

Le Parisien is a daily French newspaper with news from France and around the world. Le Parisien via Bartle Library.

AllYouCanRead.com is a database with links to magazines and newspapers from around the world. French language publications from France, Canada, Haiti, Tunisia and other countries are represented.

Le journal de Montreal Des nouvelles accessibles et complètes : sports, politique, spectacles, argent et judiciaire.

Le Soleil (Sénégal) Le Soliel via Bartle Library

You can also follow most news sites on Twitter!

French Morning New York
A commercially sponsored bilingual web site for Francophones in the New York City area. In addition to news, there are movie and restaurant reviews and listings of cultural events.
Maudits Francais
Mauditsfrancais.ca is the Canadian version, more precisely the Quebecoise version, of French Morning. To align with the regional preference of French words of over English ones, we chose a name that would resonate locally: Maudits Francais, the name for French people in Quebec. This recently launched web-magazine caters to French people living in Montreal, offering tips about where to go out, spend time, shop, and experience the best of Canada.

Media

Radio & Television

There are now a number of web sites that connect to radio broadcasts. Try Radio-Locator or Live-Radio.net.

Radio France: A French public service broadcaster, with seven stations (France Inter, France Info, France Culture, France Musique, FIP and Mouv.) They include broadcasts of news, cultural events, music and more, Classical music and jazz are particularly well represented; Mouv is devoted to pop and contemporary music.

France 24 provides French and International news in English, French or Arabic (select the language at the top right of the screen.) "Its mission is to cover international current events from a French perspective and to convey French values throughout the world. " A live RSS feed appears to the left of this screen.

Agence France Press (AFP) is "a global news agency delivering fast, in-depth coverage of the events shaping our worls from wars and conflicts to politics, sports, entertainment and the latest breakthroughs in health, science and technology" Content is in French, English and other languages.

EUScreen
The EUscreen portal offers free online access to thousands of items of audiovisual heritage. It brings together clips that provide an insight into the social, cultural, political and economic events that have shaped the 20th and 21st centuries. As well as chronicling important historical events, the EUscreen portal allows you to explore television programmes that focus on everyday experience. EUscreen is also intended to be a resource for educators, researchers and media professionals searching for new audiovisual content from across Europe.

Europeana Collections
European is a collection of millions of types of digital resources from Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections, including books, images, sound and video. See Find and Using Streaming Video for information.

Literary Web Sites, including digitized works

ARTFL Project Public Databases
The Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language (ARTFL) is a cooperative enterprise of the Laboratoire ATILF (Analyse et Traitement Informatique de la Langue Française) of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), the Division of the Humanities, and Electronic Text Services (ETS) of the University of Chicago.
The freely available databases (a few listed below) include full text of some major works .
more...less...
A sampling of the available databases:
The ARTFL Encyclopédie, a complete on-line version of the first edition of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie with Panckoucke's 4-volume Supplément à l'Encyclopédie
L'Encyclopédie méthodique: Search the recently digitized 34 volumes of Panckoucke's 18th- and 19th-century reference work.
The Bibliothèque bleue de Troyes: Online collection of 252 chapbooks from the 16th to 18th centuries.
Les journaux de Marat: Full text edition of Jean-Paul Marat's famed French Revolutionary newspapers.
TOUT VOLTAIRE: Online edition of all of Voltaire’s works, aside from his correspondence. A collaboration between the ARTFL Project and the Voltaire Foundation at the University of Oxford.
Rousseau Online: PhiloLogic version of rousseauonline.ch, a digital edition of Rousseau's Collection complète des Œuvres published under a Creative Commons Licence in 2012 by infoclio.ch.
Centre d'histoire de la résistance et de la déportation-Lyon
LYON IN THE WAR, 1939-1945
The Resistance and Deportation History Centre conserves and cares for archives and collections. What makes it different is its remarkable collection of posters, contemporary song sheets and material coming from the great figures of the Resistance. Some 700 filmed first person stories of members of the Resistance and deportees make it a key place for discovering the oral history of this period.
more...less...
The Resistance and Deportation History Centre is housed in the former military Health College, in the very building used by the Head of the Gestapo in Lyon, and is a powerfully symbolic place in the service of history and remembrance . The building's cellars, in which the Gestapo's victims were held, and which today house the temporary exhibitions, constitute the heart of the museum.
On 26th May 1944, Allied bombardments put an end to the occupation of the severely damaged building . The Gestapo services were then transferred to a building situated on the corner of the Place Bellecour and Rue Alphonse Fochier. There they carried on their sinister tasks until the liberation of the city, on 3rd September 1944.
Chemins de Memoires
Between the 17th and the 20th centuries, France was the site of a great number
of armed conflicts which left behind many remnants as a lasting legacy.The cheminsdememoire.gouv.fr website is an external communication tool and part of the policy conducted by the Ministry of Defence to develop remembrance tourism in the country.
The aim of the website is to promote the remembrance sites found in France for which it provides numerous photo reports and information evenly distributed between different areas of interest: history, remembrance, tourism and culture.
The Montaigne Project on ARTFL
The Montaigne Project offers three digital editions of Montaigne's Essais edited by Philippe Desan:

L'édition Millanges de 1580
L’édition l’Angelier de 1588
The Bordeaux copy with page images
Roman de la Rose digital library
a joint project of the Sheridan Libraries of Johns Hopkins University and the Bibliothèque nationale de France. The creation of this resource and the digitization of manuscripts from the BnF was made possible by generous support from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. The goal of the Roman de la Rose Digital Library is to create an online library of all manuscripts containing the 13th-century poem Roman de la Rose. We currently have digital surrogates of more than 130 Roman de la Rose manuscripts, and our collection continues to grow.

Finding Images including Manuscripts

ARTstor
Digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. For assistance, contact Emily Creo.
Note: This resource will return the number of hits if it is fewer than 200. Otherwise, it will report 'Hits were found'. In either case, a link to results is provided.
Europeana Collections
European is a collection of millions of types of digital resources from Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections, including books, images, sound and video. See Find and Using Streaming Video for information.

Gallica
Gallica est la bibliothèque numérique de la Bibliothèque nationale de France et de ses partenaires. En ligne depuis 1997, elle s’enrichit chaque semaine de milliers de nouveautés et offre aujourd’hui accès à plusieurs millions de documents. It currently includes digitized versions of over 633,000 books and many more thousand maps, videos, manuscripts and other documents.

You can find all of the image databases Binghamton University subscribes to and those that are open access at the Art & Architectural History Subject Guide, Image Databases Page.

Image sources are not just online—don’t forget about print! Not everything is digitized, so be sure to look in:

Books, journals, maps, and other print material in the library
The archival holdings in Special Collections (they will help you scan images if it is safe to do so)
If it is something that you can photograph yourself (such as a historic site or building) this may be a good option.

Search Strategies for Finding Images

Searching subjects and keywords will help you locate an image; if you are having trouble locating the desired image, make sure to include as much information as you know about it. You can also generate synonyms and look at the Art & Architecture Thesaurus and Union List of Artist Names if you are not sure what something is called.

Museums

Le Louvre

The Louvre's site, in English and in French, offers virtual walking tours of the Palace, Gardens, and Collections.

L a Réunion des Musées nationaux. The official web site of the French National Museums.

Le mémorial de la Shoah is the largest research, information and awareness raising centre in Europe on the unprecedented history of the genocide of the Jews during the Second World War. This museum, documentation centre and place of remembrance, offers an exceptional set of documents and numerous activities in order to contribute to a better understanding of this period in history. Located in Paris in the heart of the historical Marais quarter, the building occupies close to 5,000 m2. This site, available in French and English versions, includes links to the Multimedia Encyclopedia of the Shoah, historical maps of camps in France, and over 75,000 photographs organized by theme.

United States Holocaust Museum a site search of FRANCE will yield articles, maps, bibliographies, photographs and videos concerning World War II.

EuroDocs links connect to Western European (mainly primary) historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries (and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history). The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.Click on the link to France -- the information for the period 1872-1945, for example, contains links to primary sources for the Dreyfus Afffair, World War I, World War II (including collaboration and resistance.)

UP TO THE MINUTES NEWS FROM FRANCE .24

Last Updated: Mar 13, 2024 11:24 AM
URL: https://libraryguides.binghamton.edu/french
Print Page

Subjects: Comparative Literature, French