Subject Guides
- Binghamton University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Subject Guides
- French
- French & Spanish Adolescence Education
French
Guide Contents
Multi-Language DIctionary
- Oxford Language Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new windowArabic/English, Chinese/English, French/English, German/English, Italian/English, Portuguese/English, Russian/English, Spanish/English
Now called Oxford Dictionaries, this rich resource includes verb tables, calendars of traditions, festivals and holidays, and letter writing assistance.
Relevant Web Sites
Enseigner TV is a website maintained by the French television station TV5 Monde for teachers of French.
Do you know of a similar site for teachers of Spanish? Please send it on!
American Association of Teachers of French (AATF) is the largest national association of French teachers in the world with nearly 10,000 members, French teachers at all levels and include approximately 3/4 secondary teachers and 1/4 post-secondary. The association produces two well-known publications--the French Review, a scholarly journal of French studies now entering its 86th volume and known the world over, and the National Bulletin, now in its 38th year, a newsletter devoted to the teaching and promotion of French and Francophone studies. As of 2002, the French Review archives are available online through JSTOR (www.jstor.org).
- French Language Department of the Cultural Services of the French Embassy in the United StatesThe French Language Department of the Cultural Services of the French Embassy in the United States works to strengthen the presence of French language education in American schools and universities. The department provides training opportunities for teachers including workshops, summer universities, training, and grants. It also supports initiatives promoting the French language, such as school competitions and festivals, encourages French-language immersion classes, and promotes the DELF and DALF language diplomas. In addition, the Linguistic and Educational Department supports institutional partnerships between French Académies and American school districts.
Online Journals and Databases
- Foreign Language AnnalsAmerican Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages. Presents research and highlights new and noteworthy teaching methods for teachers of world languages.
- Studies in Second Language AcquisitionA refereed journal of international scope devoted to the scientific discussion of issues in second and foreign language acquisition of any language.
- Second Language ResearchAn international peer-reviewed, quarterly journal, publishing theoretical and experimental papers concerned with second language acquisition and second language performance.
- Language Teaching ResearchLanguage Teaching Research is a peer-reviewed journal that publishes research within the area of second or foreign language teaching. Although articles are written in English, the journal welcomes studies dealing with the teaching of languages other than English as well.
Print & Electronic Books
Cambridge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781107007710Publication Date: 2013-01-17
Computer-Assisted Foreign Language Teaching and Learning by Call Number: e-bookPublication Date: 2013
Hybrid Language Teaching and Learning by Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Online Teaching and Learning by Call Number: Bartle Library Stacks P53.28 .M475 2013ISBN: 9781441159458Publication Date: 2013-10-17
Routledge Encyclopedia of Second Language Acquistiion by ISBN: 9780203135945Publication Date: 2012-08-21The Routledge Encyclopedia of Second Language Acquisition offers a user-friendly, authoritative survey of terms and constructs that are important to understanding research in second language acquisition (SLA) and its applications. The Encyclopedia is designed for use as a reference tool by students, researchers, teachers and professionals with an interest in SLA.
Speaking Spanish in the US by ISBN: 9781788928274Publication Date: 2020-06-02This book introduces readers to basic concepts of sociolinguistics with a focus on Spanish in the US. The coverage goes beyond linguistics to examine the history and politics of Spanish in the US, the relationship of language to Latinx identities, and how language ideologies and policies reflect and shape societal views of Spanish and its speakers. Accessible to those with no linguistic background, this book provides students with a foundation in the study of language and society, and the opportunity to relate theoretical concepts to Spanish in the US in a range of contexts, including everyday speech, contemporary culture, media, education and policy. The book is a substantially revised and expanded 2nd edition of Spanish Speakers in the USA, including new chapters on the history of Spanish in the US, the demographics of Spanish in the US, and language policy; and expanded chapters on language ideologies, race, identity, media, and education. A Spanish-language edition of this book is also available: https://www.multilingual-matters.com/page/detail/?K=9781800413931.
Subject Pronoun Expression in Spanish by
Much recent scholarship has sought to identify the linguistic and social factors that favor the expression or omission of subject pronouns in Spanish. This volume brings together leading experts on the topic of language variation in Spanish to provide a panoramic view of research trends, develop probabilistic models of grammar, and investigate the impact of language contact on pronoun expression.
Publication Date: 2015
Subject Guide
Caryl Ward
Contact:
cward@binghamton.edu
Bartle Library LSG-684E
607-777-4926
Bartle Library LSG-684E
607-777-4926
French, Spanish and Italian
Related Guides
See the following guides for related resources:
