Subject Guides

Education & Student Affairs

This is a guide for research in education, including journal indexes.

Guide Contents

Professional Resources

New York State Resources

Links to selected education resources focused on NYS

NASPA

Link to Student Affairs and Administration Professional Website

American College Personnel Association (ACPA)
American College Personnel Association (ACPA) - headquartered in Washington, D.C. at the National Center for Higher Education, is the leading comprehensive student affairs association that advances student affairs and engages students for a lifetime of learning and discovery.

Education Databases

Education Source Ultimate
Includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
Spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Subject matter includes Adult Education, Continuing Education, Distance Learning, Government Funding, Multicultural/Ethic Education, Social Issues, Student Counseling, Vocational Education as well as many others.
Education Database
Education Database includes over 1,000 full-text journals and 18,000 dissertations, supporting research on the theory and practice of education.Education Database covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
ERIC (EBSCO)
Gain immediate access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index with ERIC. Coverage: 1966-present.
Contains annotated references to educational materials including journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, standards and guidelines, and science education resources.
PsycINFO (APA)
Covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. Coverage: 1887-current.
PsycARTICLES (APA)
Full-text articles in general and specialized psychology from over 100 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage: 1988 - present.
Covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. The database contains more than 25,000 searchable full text articles from 100 journals published by the APA and 9 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 49 journals.
Web of Science
Includes citation indexes in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities, as well as citation analysis features.
Also includes BIOSIS Citation Index, Data Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Derwent Innovation Index. Medline (1950-present), Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and Zoological Records.

TeachingBooks.net
Allows for identification of exceptional books that reflect diverse cultural experiences, interest and reading levels. Obtain teaching resources paired with the books that further enjoyment, contextual knowledge, and educational relevance. Proves PR resources such as flyers, emails, texts, embeddable links and social media information.

Council of Graduate Schools (CGS)
CGS is a national organization dedicated to the advancement of graduate education and research. The university's institutional membership provides best practices, benchmarking resources, and other information for graduate education leaders.
Contact gmahler@binghamton.edu for access.