Subject Guides
Latin American and Caribbean Area Studies (LACAS)
Here are some links to databases, journals, dictionaries and web sites for LACAS students and researchers.
Subject Librarian
Related Subject Guides
General LACAS Databases
- Chicano DatabaseIndexes journal articles, books, newspaper articles, and book chapters dealing on all aspects of Latino life. Strongest for Chicanos/Mexican-Americans, but also includes content on other Latin American populations living in the United States including Puerto Ricans, Dominicans, Cuban Americans, and Central Americans.
- Digitalia HispanicaThe most complete database of electronic books and journals in the Spanish language. Covers over 40,000 e-book and journal titles from countries such as Spain, Colombia, Chile, Argentina, Mexico, Peru, Dominican Republic
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI Online)Indexes journals about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the U.S. and includes a wide range of topics.
- Informe Academico
Full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. Informe Académico provides quality reference material-not simply translations of English-language materials.
- Ethnic NewsWatchA full-text collection of articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.
- JSTORPrimarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
- Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth CenturyPrimary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; and audio and video.
- DialnetDialnet provides bibliographic information and some full-text for articles published in journals from Spain and Latin America. Website interface is in Spanish and English.
LACAS - History & Social Science Databases
- Historical Abstracts with Full TextCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- Political Science CompleteScholarly articles and other literature that is international in scope covering all areas of Political Science.
- Sociological AbstractsProvides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes the subset Social Services Abstracts.
- Human Rights Studies OnlineA research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event.
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and CulturePrimary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century,you can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.
- Sabin Americana: History of the Americas 1500-1926Covers more than 400 years and 65,000 volumes in North, Central, and South America and the West Indies. The collection includes sermons, political tracts, newspapers, books, pamphlets, maps, legislation, literature, highlighting the society, politics, religious beliefs, culture, contemporary opinions, and momentous events of occurring 1500-1926.
- Women and Social Movements, International, 1840 to PresentOnline archive of published and manuscript primary sources focusing on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century.
- Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
LACAS - Literature, Art & Film Databases
- MLA International Bibliography with Full TextSubjects covered include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts. Citations of journal articles, books and dissertations are included.
- FIAF International Index to Film PeriodicalsIndexes over 500,000 articles from academic and popular film journals. Also includes the International Index to TV Periodicals, Treasures from the Film Archives, silent film holdings archives and International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.
- Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new windowAn archive of publications focused exclusively on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Available in two series, Series 1 focuses on the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics. Content is written, indexed and searchable in Spanish and English.
- Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2An archive of publications focused exclusively on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Available in two series, Series 2 focuses on Hispanic American civil rights, religion and women’s rights from the 18th through the 20th century. Content is written, indexed and searchable in Spanish and English
- Art & Architecture SourceSingle search of all the EBSCO art databases including including Art Index, Art Abstracts, Art Full Text, and Art Retrospective. Includes limited full text.
- ARTstorDigital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. For assistance, contact Emily Creo.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences and covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Coverage: 1973 - current
- Fine Arts OneFile
Scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and film-making. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
Web Resources
- LANIC
The Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) is part of the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies (LLILAS) and the Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas at Austin. Since 2011, LANIC has also been a part of the University of Texas Libraries as one of the initiatives that is under the LLILAS Benson Collaboration. LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. - Digital Library of the Caribbean
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. - Biblioteca Digital Mexicana
La Biblioteca Digital Mexicana, BDMx, nació el 23 de noviembre de 2010 por decisión de cuatro importantes instituciones culturales mexicanas ligadas a la historia y a la cultura: el Consejo Nacional para la Cultura y las Artes, el Archivo General de la Nación, La Biblioteca Nacional de Antropología e Historia (INAH) y el Centro de Estudios de Historia de México CEHM- Carso.Estas instituciones decidieron unir esfuerzos para crear una biblioteca digital multi-institucional mexicana: aportarían documentos históricos y culturales relevantes de sus fondos, e invitarían a unirse a este esfuerzo a las numerosas bibliotecas y archivos mexicanos, y a los repositorios extranjeros que tengan importante documentación mexicana. - LACLI (Latin American, Caribbean, U.S. Latinx, and Iberian Online Free E-Resources)"LACLI is a collective effort to create a warehouse of online free e-resources with Latin American, Caribbean, U.S. Latinx, and Iberian full content. LACLI master list of online free e-resources. Resources are organized in alphabetical order, and may be searched using the Google Sheets Find, Filter, or Explore functions."
