Subject Guides
Latin American and Caribbean Area Studies (LACAS)
Here are some links to databases, journals, dictionaries and web sites for LACAS students and researchers.
Subject Librarian
Welcome!
Welcome to the LACAS subject guide! The purpose of this guide is to provide a comprehensive list of resources that will be relevant and useful for anyone studying in the field of Latin American and Caribbean Area Studies. The tabs on the left-hand side will help you navigate through this guide. If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to contact the LACAS subject librarian. Happy researching!
New Books
Recommended Databases for Starting Your Research
- JSTORPrimarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI Online)Indexes journals about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the U.S. and includes a wide range of topics.
- Digitalia HispanicaThe most complete database of electronic books and journals in the Spanish language. Covers over 40,000 e-book and journal titles from countries such as Spain, Colombia, Chile, Argentina, Mexico, Peru, Dominican Republic
- Informe Academico
Full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. Informe Académico provides quality reference material-not simply translations of English-language materials.
- Ethnic NewsWatchA full-text collection of articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980The single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers.
- Historical Abstracts with Full TextCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth CenturyPrimary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; and audio and video.
- Chicano DatabaseIndexes journal articles, books, newspaper articles, and book chapters dealing on all aspects of Latino life. Strongest for Chicanos/Mexican-Americans, but also includes content on other Latin American populations living in the United States including Puerto Ricans, Dominicans, Cuban Americans, and Central Americans.
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and CulturePrimary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century,you can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.
