Subject Guides

Latin American and Caribbean Area Studies (LACAS)

Here are some links to databases, journals, dictionaries and web sites for LACAS students and researchers.

Newspaper Resources & Databases

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
The single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers.
It is based on the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project,” a national research effort directed by Nicolás Kanellos, Brown Foundation Professor of Hispanic Studies at the University of Houston.
Ethnic NewsWatch
A full-text collection of articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.
Topics covered include news, arts, business, culture, education, the environment, history, journalism, political science, sociology. Spanish language search options available.
Newspaper Source Plus
Full text coverage of selected international and regional newspapers, newswires and other news sources.
Includes The Christian Science Monitor, The Los Angeles Times, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, and The Australian; as well as selected full text from hundreds of regional newspapers. All together there is selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources. Newswire coverage includes AP Online (Associated Press), Asia Pulse, Canadian Press Wire, World Stream Newswires and more.

New York Times, 1851-2019 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. For more recent coverage, use our Journal Title search.
Los Angeles Times, 1881-2014 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Searchable full text back to the first issue. For recent coverage, use our Journal Title search.
Click Here to Visit the News Resources Subject Guide
Contains several more resources and databases, all related to finding news sources.