Subject Guides
- Binghamton University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Subject Guides
- Medieval and Early Modern Studies
- Primary Sources & Digitized Manuscripts
Medieval and Early Modern Studies
Guide Contents
Primary Source Databases
- Bloomsbury Medieval StudiesInterdisciplinary combination of primary material and secondary scholarship, providing access to ebooks, the Encyclopedia of the Global Middle Ages, digitized images of primary source materials, and more. Also includes the Medieval Clothing and Textiles Collection - featuring multiple examinations of specific clothing items and studies in the weaving, embroidering, and exporting of clothing and textiles around Medieval Europe.
- Index of Medieval ArtCovers art from the Early Christian period to the 16th century, focusing on iconographic documentation in both text and image. Works of art span 17 media, ranging from manuscripts, painting and glassworks.
- Translated Texts for Historians E-LibraryContains major historic texts dating from from 300 to 800 A.D. translated into English. The collection is organized into topical volumes.
- ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1Provides religious and theological literature from the late 13th century to 1893. Vital for scholars seeking to understand religious thought and practice.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
- Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineOver 180,000 full-text books based on the English Short Title Catalogue.
- Brepols Publishers OnlineProvides access to the International Medieval Bibliography (IMB), International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance (IBHR), Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale (BCM), Monumenta Germaniae Historica (MCH), Library of Latin Texts (Series A and B), Database of Latin Dictionaries, Dictionary of Medieval Latin from British Sources, and the International Directory of Medievalists. Can search these alone or across titles.
- Monumenta Germaniae Historica (MGH)Comprehensive series of carefully edited and published primary sources, both chronicle and archival, for the study of German history from the end of the Roman Empire to 1500
- Library of Latin Texts (LLT)Texts from the beginnings of Latin literature down to the present day. They are incorporated and selected from the best editions available and established according to best contemporary scholarly practice.
- Oxford Text Archive This link opens in a new windowIncludes several thousand electronic texts and linguistic corpora, in a variety of languages. Its holdings include electronic editions of works by individual authors, standard reference works such as the Bible and mono-/bilingual dictionaries, and a range of language corpora.
- Avalon ProjectFull text documents relating to politics, history, law, diplomacy and government. International in scope, ranging from 400BC to current times. Contains treaties, speeches, constitutions, letters, etc. Links to supporting documents included.
- Perseus Classics CollectionFeatures several hundred works of classical Greek and Roman authors, both in the original language and in translation (mostly older but standard editions such as the Loeb). It also includes the Latin Vulgate, the Greek New Testament, and an English Bible text. From Tufts University.
- Europeana CollectionsEuropean is a collection of millions of types of digital resources from Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections, including books, images, sound and video. See Find and Using Streaming Video for information.
Online Text & Manuscripts
- Internet Medieval Sourcebook (FordhamUniversity)The Internet Medieval Sourcebook includes literary and legal texts, saints' lives, and maps.
- Global Medieval Sourcebook (Stanford Univ)The GMS spans one thousand years (600-1600) of literary production across the medieval world (Europe, North Africa, the Middle East, and Asia). It contains primarily short texts of broad interdisciplinary interest in a variety of genres, and many of the texts have not previously been translated into English.
- Universal Short Title CatalogueThe USTC allows searching of all known books published in the first age of print in England, France, Italy, and any other part of the world where printing with moveable type is known. It contains information on the location of more than 4 million copies of books printed between 1450 and 1650, along with links to more than 200,000 full digital scans.
- GallicaDigitized material from the the National Library of France and its partners. Includes books, manuscripts, images, sound recordings & scores, maps and more. Offers access to several million documents, with thousands of new items added every week.
- British Library Digitised ManuscriptsThe Digitised Manuscripts site contains many different kinds of manuscripts, archives and documents. Much of the content available here has been digitised as part of the British Library’s digitisation projects.
- Digitized Medieval Manuscripts MapsDigitized Medieval Manuscripts (DMMapp) is a database that links to hundreds of repositories across the world that contain freely available digitized medieval manuscripts. The data collected by the DMMapp is crowdsourced and updated constantly.
- Corpus Corporum: repositorium operum Latinorum apud universitatem TuricensemA Latin text (meta-)repository and tool under way of development. Users should take into account that some functions do not yet work satisfactorily. This Corpus Córporum is being developed at the University of Zurich under the direction of Ph. Roelli, Institute for Greek and Latin Philology. Texts may be downloaded as TEI xml or txt-files for non-commercial use. In order to facilitate online reading, Latin words in the text can be resolved to their lemma form by clicking them.
- Project GutenbergAn archive of public domain books available in a variety of formats including plain text, PDF, HTML and EPUB. Books can be searched by author or title. An RSS feed is available for tracking site additions. An online and offline catalog is included.
- Post-Reformation Digital LibraryThe Post-Reformation Digital Library (PRDL) is a select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Late medieval and patristic works printed and referenced in the early modern era are also included. The PRDL is a project of the Junius Institute for Digital Reformation Research.
- Philological MuseumA site devoted to Humanistic Letters, principally British, published under the auspices of The Shakespeare Institute of the University of Birmingham. the site has two parts - Library of Humanistic Texts and Bibliography of Neo-Latin Texts on the Web.
- Manuscripts Online: Written Culture 1000-1500Manuscripts Online enables you to search a diverse body of online primary resources relating to written and early printed culture in Britain during the period 1000 to 1500. The resources include literary manuscripts, historical documents and early printed books which are located on websites owned by libraries, archives, universities and publishers.
- Bibliothèque Virtuelle des Manuscrits MédiévauxA digital library of medieval manuscripts from French libraries across the country (but not the Bibliothèque Nationale), made available by the IRHT (Institut de Recherche et d'Histoire des Textes) . The interface is in French but easy to use. There is a map view that allows you to browse by city.
- Parker Library On the WebDigitized manuscripts in the Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge
- Bibliotheca Palatina – Digital (Universitâts-Bibliothek HeidelbergOne of the consequences of the Thirty Years' War was that the most important collection of books in the 17th century Holy Roman Empire, the Bibliotheca Palatina, was divided between two principal locations: Heidelberg and the Vatican. Since 2001, Heidelberg University Library has been working on several projects that aim to digitize parts of this great collection, the final goal being a complete virtual reconstruction of the 'mother of all libraries'.
