Subject Guides

Medieval and Early Modern Studies

Guide Contents

Subject Librarian

Contact:

mtuttle@binghamton.edu
LN 2303

(607) 777-4913

Subjects: German & Russian Studies, History, Medieval, Renaissance & Early Modern Studies, Middle Eastern & Ancient Mediterranean Studies, Russian & East European Studies

Other Resources

Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies (Binghamton University)

Medieval Databases

Bloomsbury Medieval Studies
Interdisciplinary combination of primary material and secondary scholarship, providing access to ebooks, the Encyclopedia of the Global Middle Ages, digitized images of primary source materials, and more. Also includes the Medieval Clothing and Textiles Collection - featuring multiple examinations of specific clothing items and studies in the weaving, embroidering, and exporting of clothing and textiles around Medieval Europe.
The Clothing collection is the entire catalogue of Boydell & Brewer's annuals.
Brepols Publishers Online
Provides access to the International Medieval Bibliography (IMB), International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance (IBHR), Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale (BCM), Monumenta Germaniae Historica (MCH), Library of Latin Texts (Series A and B), Database of Latin Dictionaries, Dictionary of Medieval Latin from British Sources, and the International Directory of Medievalists. Can search these alone or across titles.
International Medieval Bibliography
Leading bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c. 400-1500), provides records to articles, scholarly notes, etc. on all aspects of medieval studies and covering publications in over 30 languages. Click on "Enter Databases."
Annee Philologique
An exhaustive index of periodicals, books and festschriften in classics and classical studies. Coverage: 1969 - 2 years ago.
It covers Greek and Latin linguistics and literature and Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and palaeography: all aspects of the ancient Mediterranean world.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed in MFI; for these, check library catalogs that have strong collections in medieval studies.

Multidisciplinary Databases

JSTOR
Primarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
JSTOR has a "moving wall," which represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Publishers determine the moving wall length in their license agreements with JSTOR. Moving walls may range from zero to ten years, and those with walls from zero to seven years participate in our revenue sharing program. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Project Muse
Humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals from several university presses.
Coverage: Varies by title; earliest from 1990.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Includes such topics as world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955; and 350 of them in full text.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Over 275,000 citations on international music corresponding to the printed RILM Abstracts of Music Literature.
Contains records in over 100 languages; entries include original-language titles, title translations in English, full bibliographic information, and abstracts in English, as well as author, journal, and in-depth subject indexes.

Last Updated: Dec 3, 2024 1:47 PM
URL: https://libraryguides.binghamton.edu/cemers
Print Page

Subjects: Medieval, Renaissance & Early Modern Studies

Tags: early_modern, medieval, middle_ages, renaissance