Subject Guides
Medieval and Early Modern Studies
Guide Contents
Subject Librarian
Encyclopedias, etc.
- Encyclopedia of the Middle AgesArticles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century. Explores art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history.
- Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of the Global Middle AgesIncludes overviews based on specific regional areas as well as thematic overviews of key concepts within their global contexts. The Encyclopedia takes an inclusive approach, and aims to provide readers with scholarly articles by global contributors and specialists in all things medieval, to present how, as today, diversity and connection competed with isolation and conflict during a significant era in global history.
- Oxford Dictionary of National BiographyBiographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the 4th century BC to the 21st century.
- ORB: On-line Reference Book for Medieval Studies(College of Staten Island, CUNY) Includes the ORB Encyclopedia, the ORB Textbook Library, Resources for Teaching, E-Texts, the ORB Reference Shelf and more.
- Dictionary of Medieval Latin from British Sources (DMLBS)The most comprehensive dictionary of Medieval Latin to have been produced and the first ever to focus on British Medieval Latin, DMLBS covers a particularly long period stretching from Gildas (fl. 540) to William Camden (1600). It is based on the close reading of thousands of Medieval Latin texts, both literary and documentary.
Encyclopedia of Medieval Philosophy by ISBN: 9781402097294Publication Date: 2011The Encyclopedia of Medieval Philosophy covers all areas of philosophy in the Middle Ages and part of the Renaissance, ranging from 500 to 1500 CE. It contains general entries on medieval philosophers and medieval philosophies and on the key terms and concepts in the subject area, but it also provides more in-depth details and analyses of particular theories. Furthermore, in order to gain an insight into the social and cultural context of the material, entries are included on the teaching of philosophy, the career of philosophers, and the place of philosophy within the universities.
Web Portals for Medieval Studies
-
Voice of the Shuttle Webpage for Humanities Research page (Univ of Calif Santa Barbara). An excellent compilation of academic websites for all humanities subjects. Although there is not a separate Medieval or Renaissance studies page, searching these terms in the VoS search box will return a list of links across the humanities devoted to these time periods.
-
The Labyrinth (Georgetown University) provides free, organized access to electronic resources in medieval studies through a World Wide Web server at Georgetown University. The Labyrinth's easy-to-use menus and links provide connections to databases, services, texts, and images on other servers around the world. Each user will be able to find an Ariadne's thread through the maze of information on the Web.
-
NetSERF: Medieval History (Catholic University of America) Medieval resources, including much full-text, grouped by subject category.NetSERF's unique Hypertext Medieval Glossary includes over 1500 terms defined, covering all aspects of medieval life and spanning the medieval world, many terms are linked together so that one can get the best understanding possible.
-
WWW-Virtual Library History page is a collection of links to academic websites for History. Subcategories include: History by Continent/Country and History by Eras and Epochs.
