Subject Guides
Guide Contents
Subject Librarian
Searching the Library Catalog for Audiovisual Materials
To search for Audio and/or Video materials in the Libraries' catalog, open Advanced Search in Find It!, fill in your search terms, and select either "Audio" or "Videos" from the "Material Type" pull down menu. You can further refine the results by selecting some of the many options available in the left column of the search results.
Online Sound Recordings and Other Resources
- Naxos Music LibraryMost comprehensive collection of classical music available online. Whilst listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database. Tracks in NML are *NOT* downloadable to any device.
- National Jukebox: historical recordings from the Library of CongressHistorical sound recordings available to the public free of charge including recordings of opera, blues, ragtime, jazz, folk music, speeches, comedies, and many more. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.
- NewMusicBoxA multimedia publication from New Music USA dedicated to the music of American composers and improvisers and their champions. NewMusicBox offers: in-depth profiles, articles, and discussions; up-to-the-minute industry news and commentary; a direct portal to our internet radio station, Counterstream; and access to an online library of more than 57,000 works by more than 6,000 composers.
- AHRC Research Centre for the History and Analysis of Recorded Music (CHARM)An online audio archive of 5,000 classical music files, digitized from 78 rpm discs in the collection of London's King College Sound Archive. Search by composer, artist, or date.
Online Videos and Films
- Academic Video Online AVONAcademic Video Online offers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
