Subject Guides
Guide Contents
Subject Librarian
Searching for Scores in Our Catalog
To search for Scores and Sheet Music/Lead Sheets in the Libraries' catalog, open Advanced Search in Find It!, fill in your search terms, and select "Scores" from the "Material Type" pull down menu. You can further refine the results by selecting some of the many options available in the left column of the search results.
You can also try adding the following in a subject keyword search:
|
Cadenzas Excerpts Manuscripts--Facsimiles Methods Methods--Self-instruction Studies and exercises Instructive editions Teaching pieces Music |
Musical settings Scores and parts Solo with harpsichord Solo with harpsichord and piano Solo with piano Songs and music Vocal scores with piano Vocal scores with organ |
Online Score and Sheet Music Collections
- Music Online: Classical Scores Library, Volumes I-VSearch and download in-copyright digital scores of the classical canon. Includes full, study, piano, and vocal scores encompassing all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. Includes diverse and lesser-known contemporary works. Scores can be downloaded.
- Recent Researches in Music Online (RRIMO)Critical performing editions and partbooks of music in seven series (Middle Ages, Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, 19th and Early 20th Centuries, American Music (including MUSA), Oral Traditions, and Yale University’s Collegium Musicum. Includes the Legacy and Ongoing collections. Scores can be downloaded.
- IMSLP Petrucci Music LibraryThousands of free public domain scores
- Sheet Music ConsortiumSearch across many libraries for sheet music. The Sheet Music Consortium is a group of libraries working toward the goal of building an open collection of digitized sheet music using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting.
- PartifiA free and automated tool for creating parts from music scores from the IMSLP library or by uploading a PDF
- Early Music OnlineA pilot project in which 300 of the world’s earliest surviving volumes of printed music, held in the British Library, have been digitized and made freely available online.
- American Memory ProjectPrimary source materials from The Library of Congress, includes digital items such as George Washington's letters, Civil War photographs, women suffrage materials, early maps, etc. Coverage:16th century to present; varies by collection.
- IN Harmony: Sheet Music from IndianaIN Harmony: Sheet Music from Indiana is a search and discovery system for accessing sheet music from the Indiana University Lilly Library, the Indiana State Library, the Indiana State Museum, and the Indiana Historical Society. Funded through a National Leadership Grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), IN Harmony features Indiana-related sheet music - sheet music by Indiana composers, arrangers, lyricists or publishers as well as sheet music about the state.
- Maine Music BoxOver 22,000 pieces of sheet music (songs and instrumental works), contributed primarily by the Bagaduce Music Lending Library and the Bangor Public Library, and dating from the late nineteenth century to the late twentieth century, have been scanned as sets of high-resolution images.
- Digital Scores and Libretti (Harvard Univ)The scores and libretti in this Virtual Collection include first and early editions and manuscript copies of music from the eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries by J.S. Bach and Bach family members, Mozart, Schubert and other composers, as well as multiple versions of nineteenth century opera scores, seminal works of musical modernism, and music of the Second Viennese School.
- UR Research--Eastman School of Music--Sibley Music Library--Music ScoresScores and books in the public domain. Many of these are unique to the Sibley Music Library collection.
- Julliard Manuscript CollectionA collection of 140 autograph manuscripts, sketches, engravers proofs, and first editions.
- MutopiaThe Mutopia Project offers sheet music editions of classical music for free download. These are based on editions in the public domain.
- Boosey & Hawkes Online ScoresPresents full digitized scores by a wide range of twentieth- and twenty-first-century composers, free of charge. While the scores cannot be printed or downloaded, they may be viewed and enlarged for study or research. The collection is searchable by composer or genre, and individual accounts can be customized with bookmarks.
- UIUC U.S. Sheet Music DatabaseThe U.S. Sheet Music Collection in the Music and Performing Arts Library at the University of Illinois contains about 100,000 titles of popular music (as well as some classical) from the early 19th century through the 1980s. The U.S. Sheet Music Collection is divided into two main categories: Vocal/piano music and Instrumental piano music.
- MuseDataFocused on music composed in Europe roughly between 1700 and 1825
- Music Manuscripts OnlineOnline access to high-quality images and descriptions of more than 900 music manuscripts owned by The Morgan Library & Museum.
- Music Library Digital Scores CollectionContains manuscript musical scores dating from the 17th through 19th centuries from the University of Washington comprised of 17th and 18th century operas, opera excerpts, and other vocal music.
- DIAMM: Digital Image Archive of Medieval MusicArchive images of: all fragments of English polyphonic music written before 1550; all complete sources of English polyphonic music before 1500, and as many as practically possible 1500-1550; all fragments of European polyphony 1300-1450; as many complete manuscripts of European polphony 1300-1450, and beyond as is possible and practicable.
- Internet Archive: Ebook and Texts Archive"The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books."
- New York Philharmonic Digital ArchivesThe Philharmonic Archives contain hi-res digital reproductions of scores, parts, programs, and images from the years 1943-1970. Search by conductor, artist, and season.
New Print Music
Score Call Numbers
M2 Scores based on Historical Sources
M3 Collected Works by Individual Composers
M6-175.5 One Solo Instrument
M6-19 Organ
M20-32 Piano
M32.8-39 Arrangements, transcriptions for piano
M40-44 Violin
M45-49 Viola
M50-54 Cello
M55-59 Double Bass
M60-64 Flute
M65-69 Oboe
M70-74 Clarinet
M75-79 Bassoon
M80-85 Horn
M85-89 Trumpet or Cornet
M90-94 Trombone
M95-99 Tuba
M105-109 Saxophone
M110.B33 Euphonium
M110.E5 English Horn
M115-119 Harp
M125-129 Guitar
M177-990 Two or More Solo Instruments
M182-285 Solo Instrument with Keyboard
M182-186 Organ and One Other Instrument
M200-204 Piano, Four Hands
M214-216 Duets, Two Pianos
M286-299 Duets
M286-287 Two String Instruments
M288-289 Two Wind Instruments
M290-291 One Wind and One String Instrument
M292-293 Two Plucked Instruments
M294-295 One String and One Plucked Instrument
M296-297 One Wind and One Plucked Instrument
M300-399 Trios
M400-499 Quartets
M450-454 String Quartets
M455-459 Wind Quartets
M460-464 String and Wind Quartets
M500-599 Quintets
M600-699 Sextets
M700-799 Septets
M800-899 Octets
M900-986 Nonets
M1000-1075 Orchestra
M1001 Symphonies
M1003 Suites
M1005-1075 Solo Instrument with Orchestra
M1100-1160 String Orchestra
M1105-1160 Solo Instrument with String Orchestra
M1200-1270 Band
M1350-1366 Other Ensembles
M1494-1998 Secular Vocal Music
M1500-1527.8 Dramatic Music
M1500-1509 Operas and Musicals
M1520-1526 Ballets
M1528-1529.5 Two or More Solo Voices
M1627-1853 Folk, National, and Ethnic Music
M1999-2199 Sacred Vocal Music
M2000-2007 Dramatic Music
M2000-2003 Oratorios
M2102-2114.8 Solo Voice
M2115-2146 Hymnals, Hymn Collections
