Subject Guides
- Binghamton University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Subject Guides
- Music
- Databases for Music Research (Journals, Articles, & More)
Music
Resources for the Study of Music
Guide Contents
Scholarly Journals
There are hundreds of peer-reviewed scholarly journals on music spanning topics in performance, history, ethnomusicology, theory, music therapy, and many others. The list below includes some of the most influential journals in these fields, but it is only a small sample. If you wish to undertake a more thorough search, consider using one or more of the databases listed to the right.
Browse more journals available online at Binghamton University Libraries...
-
Arranged by topic, also including dance, drama, and film.
Databases for Music Research
- RILM Abstracts of Music LiteratureOver 275,000 citations on international music corresponding to the printed RILM Abstracts of Music Literature. Entries include original-language titles, title translations in English, full bibliographic information, and abstracts in English, as well as author, journal, and in-depth subject indexes. Coverage: 1969-present.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowAccess and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location, searching more than 8000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works. Includes Grove Music Online.
- Fine Arts OneFile
Scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and film-making. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
- Recent Researches in Music Online (RRIMO)Critical performing editions and partbooks of music in seven series (Middle Ages, Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, 19th and Early 20th Centuries, American Music (including MUSA), Oral Traditions, and Yale University’s Collegium Musicum. Includes the Legacy and Ongoing collections. Scores can be downloaded.
- IPA SourceContains more than 11,000 International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. IPA Source is searchable by composer, poet, title, opera aria and Latin text. Texts are available as downloadable PDFs.
Multidisciplinary Databases that Include Music
The following are best bets for finding scholarly articles, reviews, conference papers, and more. These databases are not devoted specifically to music, but they include a wide variety of music resources that may not be found in the music-specific databases.
- JSTORJSTOR is primarily a journal archive. The Music Collection contains the complete back runs of 33 titles dedicated to scholarly research and theory in the field of music. The collection includes journals published in the Netherlands, Croatia, Hungary, Germany, and France. Only some current content is available here. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
- Humanities Source UltimateFull text for many of the most important academic sources in the humanities. Humanities Source provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas and more.
- Web of ScienceThrough the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, this provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals (1988-present).
- Nexis Uni
NexisUni provides access to 15,000+ news, business and legal sources. If a sign-in button appears, click the button for access.
Best bets for finding Dissertations and Theses.
- Dissertations & Theses GlobalInternational in scope, this database offers indexing and text for dissertations and thesis spanning from 1743 to the present day. Full text for some dissertations prior to 1997, full text for most works added since 1997.
- Dissertations & Theses @ Binghamton UniversityFull text of all BU dissertations from 1997 to the present. Citations and abstracts of all BU dissertations published by UMI.
