Subject Guides

French

Guide to library resources in French literature and language.

Guide Contents

Organizing Your Research

Research Project Calculator
The Research Project Calculator is an online tool that helps you set a schedule for your paper. Enter the day you will start it, the day it's due, and you will get a suggested timeframe for each step. Click on each step (Selecting Your Topic, or Find Articles) and you'll get great tips for using the Binghamton University Libraries to help you write your paper.
Citation Managers Guide
Citation managers help you manage citations and insert bibliographies into your papers. This guide will help you get started with choosing and using the citation manager that works best for you among Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote Basic.

Binghamton University Libraries Databases for French Language, Literature and Culture

Find It
Searches the libraries' catalog and article databases at the same time.

See also PLACES TO START databases.

Literature Resource Center
Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.Includes fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.
Includes: Contemporary Authors Online, offering biographical coverage of more than 113,000 writers; Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, featuring entries on all authors appearing in CLC since vol. 95 of the print series and complete profiles of 266 most studied authors from editions prior to vol. 95; Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, containing more than 10,000 bio-critical essays on authors and their works written by academic scholars; Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, featuring 10,000 entries for authors, works, literary landmarks, literary and critical terms, mythological and folkloric figures, fictional characters, literary movements and prizes.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 6,500 sources published worldwide. Coverage includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation.
JSTOR
Primarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
JSTOR has a "moving wall," which represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Publishers determine the moving wall length in their license agreements with JSTOR. Moving walls may range from zero to ten years, and those with walls from zero to seven years participate in our revenue sharing program. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Literature Online (LION)
Over a third of a million full-text works of poetry, prose and drama in English, together with the definitive online criticism and reference library.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals
Indexes over 500,000 articles from academic and popular film journals. Also includes the International Index to TV Periodicals, Treasures from the Film Archives, silent film holdings archives and International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.
This film studies database was created by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF). Coverage: 1972 - present.
Bloomsbury Medieval Studies
Interdisciplinary combination of primary material and secondary scholarship, providing access to ebooks, the Encyclopedia of the Global Middle Ages, digitized images of primary source materials, and more. Also includes the Medieval Clothing and Textiles Collection - featuring multiple examinations of specific clothing items and studies in the weaving, embroidering, and exporting of clothing and textiles around Medieval Europe.
The Clothing collection is the entire catalogue of Boydell & Brewer's annuals.
Humanities Source Ultimate
Full text for many of the most important academic sources in the humanities. .
Humanities Source provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas and more. Includes full-text. Coverage: 1910 - present.
Literary Reference Source
Collection of author biographies, plot summaries and work overviews, full-text essays from leading publishers, literary reference books and monographs, cover-to-cover full text for literary magazines and journals, book reviews from the most prestigious publications, poems from hundreds of sources, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and much more.
Also includes includes Merriam Webster’s Encyclopedia of Literature, Beacham’s Research Guide to Biography and Criticism, The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature, and all of Magill On Literature Plus.
Project Muse
Humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals from several university presses.
Coverage: Varies by title; earliest from 1990.

Persee
Digitization of a large collection of conference papers and journals across subjects. All in French.
more...less...
This portal of citations was launced by the French Ministry of State Education, Higher Education, and Research hand the Universite Lumiere Lyon. All the journals were selected through a editorial board.

Subject Librarian

Caryl Ward

Contact:

cward@binghamton.edu
Bartle Library LSG-684E
607-777-4926

French, Spanish and Italian

Subjects: French, Italian, Spanish

Citation Help

When you cite your sources, whether they are books, journal articles, a web site, speeches, television transcripts, etc., you will be expected to use a specific format with regard to order and punctuation. There are a number of style manuals, but most literary papers will tend to follow the Modern Language Association's recommended style. A copy of the MLA Handbook is kept at the Reference Desk in Bartle, Science, and the UDC. An electronic version is available on the web from B.U. Libraries' Citation Help page, which also contains information on APA and Chicago styles.

See also: Academic Honesty and Plagiarism, tips and advice on avoiding plagiarizing sources

For image help and citation see Using Images guide.

Last Updated: Mar 13, 2024 11:24 AM
URL: https://libraryguides.binghamton.edu/french
Print Page

Subjects: Comparative Literature, French