Subject Guides

Social Work

Social work literature, literature reviews, etc

Guide Contents

NASW News

Sarah Maximiek

her/she

Contact:

Bartle Library / maximiek@binghamton.edu / 607.777.3941

drop in help: 3-5 Tuesdays at the UDC Library / Commons

Subjects: Community Research and Action PhD, Human Development, Public Administration, Social Work, Sustainable Communities

Core Databases

Social Work Abstracts
Extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965.
User limit: 4. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW).
PsycINFO (APA)
Covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. Coverage: 1887-current.
Sociological Abstracts
Provides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes the subset Social Services Abstracts.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)
This database indexes topics of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional. ASSIA currently contains over 375,000 records from over 500 journals published in 16 different countries, including the UK and US.
CINAHL Ultimate
Extensive coverage of nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Full text of authoritative medical information from such fields as medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences.
Education Source Ultimate
Full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
Spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Subject matter includes Adult Education, Continuing Education, Distance Learning, Government Funding, Multicultural/Ethic Education, Social Issues, Student Counseling, Vocational Education as well as many others.

Other Recommended Databases

LGBT Source+
Provides abstracting and indexing for more than 130 LGBT-specific core periodicals and over 290 LGBT-specific core books and reference works.
This coontains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 130 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 170 full-text monographs/books including Classics in Lesbian Studies, Gay Science: The Ethics of Sexual Orientation Research, Handbook of Research with Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Populations, Queer Theory & Social Change, etc. Includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 7,500 terms. Full-text content available in LGBT Life with Full Text includes The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, Tangents, and many more.
Web of Science
Covers the citation indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports
Also includes BIOSIS Citation Index, Data Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Derwent Innovation Index. Medline (1950-present), Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and Zoological Records.
PAIS Index
Provides citations relating to social conditions, human rights, and various other public issues.
Covers journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Criminal Justice Database
Comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. Coverage: 1981-current.
Ethnic NewsWatch
A full-text collection of articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.
Topics covered include news, arts, business, culture, education, the environment, history, journalism, political science, sociology. Spanish language search options available.

Core Journals

Google Scholar Metrics: Social Work Journals
Lists 20 Social Work Journals with a high h5-index.
ScImago Journal Rankings for Social Work
Uses information collected from the database Scopus to rank journals

Journals and Article Browsing

DOI Search
Search by DOI to find fulltext or start a InterLibrary Loan request.
BrowZine
Browse journals by subject.
LibKey Nomad
Browser extension to locate full-text of articles, even when behind library paywalls.
Need More Help on BrowZine or LibKey?
Guide that provides further detail on using all of the tools listed above.

Last Updated: Sep 17, 2024 7:54 PM
URL: https://libraryguides.binghamton.edu/socwork
Print Page

Subjects: Social Work

Tags: education, human_development, social_work