Subject Guides
- Binghamton University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Subject Guides
- Social Work
- Locating Evidence Based Research
Social Work
Social work literature, literature reviews, etc
Guide Contents
Locating Evidence Based Research
"Evidence-based practice (EBP) is a five-step process used to select, deliver, and evaluate individual and social interventions aimed at preventing or ameliorating client problems and social conditions....At its most basic level, EBP seeks to systematically integrate evidence about the efficacy of interventions in clinical decision-making."
Jenson, J. & Howard, M. (2013). Evidence-based practice. Encyclopedia of Social Work. from http://socialwork.oxfordre.com/view/10.1093/acrefore/9780199975839.001.0001/acrefore-9780199975839-e-137
Many of the Libraries' databases allow an user to search for a subject heading of "evidence based practice" or apply a limiter of "evidence based practice" to make locating this type of research easy. Examples are below.
- PsycARTICLES (APA)Full-text articles related to psychology. Add "evidence based practice" to your search and change the drop-down to "SUBJECT."
- Social Work AbstractsCoverage of social work and human service journals. Add "evidence based practice" to your search and change the drop-down to "SUBJECT."
- CINAHL UltimateExtensive coverage of nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health. On the search screen, scroll down to the box titled "Special Interest" and scroll to select "Evidence Based." Add your search terms to the top of the page
There are also databases that focused on EBR.
- Campbell Collaboration Library of Systematic ReviewsSystematic reviews that covers criminal justice, social welfare, international development, education, and methods.
- Cochrane LibraryContains evidence-based articles, reviews, protocols, clinical trials, technology assessments, and economic evaluations.
- TRIP databaseClinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Use Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) to request items not available online.
EBR books
Foundations of evidence-based social work practice by
Call Number: HV689 .F68 2006 UDC
From Task-Centered Social Work to Evidence-Based and Integrative Practice by Call Number: HV10.5 .F77 2012 UDC
Evidence-Based Social Work Practice with Families by Call Number: e-book and at the UDC
