Subject Guides

*Human Development

Databases, citation information and links useful for human development research.

Guide Contents

Sarah Maximiek

her/she

Contact:

Bartle Library / maximiek@binghamton.edu / 607.777.3941

drop in help: 3-5 Tuesdays at the UDC Library / Commons

Subjects: Community Research and Action PhD, Human Development, Public Administration, Social Work, Sustainable Communities

Locating Articles

Social Sciences Full Text
Full-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. Coverage: 1972-present.
PsycARTICLES (APA)
Full-text articles in general and specialized psychology from over 100 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage: 1988 - present.
Covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. The database contains more than 25,000 searchable full text articles from 100 journals published by the APA and 9 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 49 journals.
Education Source Ultimate
Full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
Spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Subject matter includes Adult Education, Continuing Education, Distance Learning, Government Funding, Multicultural/Ethic Education, Social Issues, Student Counseling, Vocational Education as well as many others.
Sociology Source Ultimate
Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
expanded version of SocIndex.
GenderWatch
Full-text database that focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Coverage: mid-1970s - present.
Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO, and special reports.
LGBT Source+
Provides abstracting and indexing for more than 130 LGBT-specific core periodicals and over 290 LGBT-specific core books and reference works.
This coontains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 130 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 170 full-text monographs/books including Classics in Lesbian Studies, Gay Science: The Ethics of Sexual Orientation Research, Handbook of Research with Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Populations, Queer Theory & Social Change, etc. Includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 7,500 terms. Full-text content available in LGBT Life with Full Text includes The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, Tangents, and many more.
Diversity Studies OneFile
Literature that explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. Coverage begins in 1980.
America: History & Life with Full Text
Literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1700 journals, provides full text of 200 titles.
The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Ethnic NewsWatch
A full-text collection of articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.
Topics covered include news, arts, business, culture, education, the environment, history, journalism, political science, sociology. Spanish language search options available.

News and Newspapers
Newspapers and news stories.
More Human Development databases

Article Help

Find Articles: Help
What is a Scholarly Journal?
What does a "peer-review" or scholarly article look like?
Understanding Keywords
How to pick your terms for searching; and improve after your first try.

Related Subject Guides

Hot Research Topics & Controversial Issues
by Sarah Maximiek Last Updated Sep 16, 2024 439 recent views
Education & Student Affairs
by Benjamin Andrus Last Updated Mar 12, 2024 509 recent views
Sociology
by Benjamin Andrus Last Updated Mar 12, 2024 842 recent views
Psychology
by Jen Embree Last Updated Mar 14, 2024 2683 recent views
Health and Wellness
by Laura Lipke Last Updated Oct 31, 2024 729 recent views
Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies
by Jillian Sandy Last Updated Oct 29, 2024 334 recent views

Last Updated: Sep 23, 2024 9:21 AM
URL: https://libraryguides.binghamton.edu/humandevelopment
Print Page

Subjects: Human Development

Tags: human_development, human_rights