Subject Guides
*Human Development
Databases, citation information and links useful for human development research.
Guide Contents
Primary Sources & Reports
- Human Rights Studies OnlineA research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event.
- U.S. Declassified Documents OnlineThis collection is made up of U.S. government documents obtained from presidential libraries. These libraries receive declassified documents from various government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department, and others.
- Digital National Security Archive
Declassified U.S. government documents, providing vital primary source material to advance research in twentieth and twenty-first century history, politics, and international relations, covering events from the Berlin Crisis to post-9/11 U.S. intelligence.
- ProQuest CongressionalAccess to legislative publications including Congressional Hearings (parts A-D), U.S. Bills and Resolutions (2014-2018), laws, reports, documents, prints, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and member and committee information.
- Human Rights Library (University of Minnesota)Searchable site of 65,000 documents relating to human rights, from UN documents to treaties and regional documents.
- HURISDOCS: ToolsLinks to Human Rights databases and tools for analyzing information.
- Amnesty InternationalSource of the Human Rights Reports, covering developments in 160 every year. Search for "Amnesty International Report year). The site has from 1993/94 forward.
- Human Rights WatchThe definitive non-governmental organization devoted to tracking human rights conditions worldwide. Web site contains annual reports from 1996 to the present, thematic reports, and current news releases, updated daily. Can browse by country or theme.
- Country Reports on Human Rights PracticesU. S. State Department reports submitted to Congress annually that summarize the individual, civil, political, female, and worker rights in all countries of the world. Website covers 1999 - present.
These are also available as "Committee Prints & Misc Publications" through the Proquest Congressional database, along with related documents.
Finding Books on Human Rights
Example Searches
"human rights movements" "human rights" AND country "children's rights" "international law" "humanitarian law"
"emmigration and immigration" "crimes against humanity" "genocide"
search for specific groups (for example "Indigenous Peoples")
search on specific group identifier ("gay rights," "transgender people")
Reference Books
- SAGE Research Methods Books and Reference
Hundreds of titles provide a quick definition of methods to comprehensive exploration of concepts and methods.
Blackstone's International Human Rights Documents by Call Number: K 3238 .B58 2010
Videos and Podcasts
- Academic Video Online AVONSource of documentaries and interviews from a wide range of producers covering everything from UN speeches to documentaries about human trafficking, child slavery, genocides and other abuses.
- USC Shoah Visual History Archive
Contains video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide, crimes against humanity, and related persecution.
- Human Rights Studies OnlineA research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. Includes approx. 150 hours of video
- Pod for the CauseA conversation on critical civil and human rights challenges of our day: census, justice reform, policing, education, fighting hate & bias, judicial nominations, fair courts, voting rights, media & tech, economic security, immigration, and human rights.
- The HumA podcast that cuts straight to the heart of human rights stories. Raw, honest and uncensored, from the people who have lived them first-hand.
- Civil Rights Digital LibraryRich list of visual and moving images relating to the U.S. Civil Rights movement that are freely available to use.
- On Human RightsFrom the Raoul Wallenberg Institute of Human Rights and Humanitarian Law
