English Language Institute (ELI) Library Guide

What is a database?

A database is a collection of journals.

A journal is a collection of articles.

So, a database has many articles from many different journals.

Get It at BU

Don't see the full text of the article?

Click on Get It @ BU to see if it's available. 

What is a scholarly journal?

Do you need articles from a peer-reviewed or scholarly journal?

Find out what that means!

Accessing Databases

There are several ways to access databases from the Libraries' website. These are the recommended ways:

  1. Most Subject Guides include recommended databases. There's a guide for every subject that you can take courses in at Binghamton.
  2. The Databases A-Z List provides the full list of all the databases you have access to through the Libraries. The list can be filtered by database subject and type.


 

When accessing databases, be sure to go through the Libraries' website to ensure that you'll have access to all of our content. If you try to access databases directly, you'll likely run into paywalls.

Selecting a Database

Selecting a database can seem overwhelming, especially when there are hundreds to choose from. Here are some tips:

  • Make sure you read the database description before you start searching. The description will tell you about the type of content, dates covered, full-text availability, language, and more.
  • When selecting a database from the A-Z List, use the dropdown menus to narrow the options by subject and/or type
  • Consider who is producing information about your topic. How would those people share that information? Depending on who they are, the answer may be scholarly journals, books, newspapers, magazines, blogs, and/or social media. This will affect which type of database is most useful for you.

Recommended Databases

We have access to over 300 different databases. These are especially helpful for ELI students: 

Your Librarian

Megan Benson's picture
Megan Benson
Contact:
Bartle Library LN-2307
mbenson@binghamton.edu
607-777-4803
Schedule a class

Research Help

Ask a Librarian logoNeed research help? Just ask!