Subject Guides

ECON 454-90 & ECON 509C-01 Class Guide: Home

This is a guide for the ECON 454-90 (Economics of Corporations) and ECON 509C-01 (Economics of Corporate Strategy) classes.

Industry Information

Annual Survey of Manufactures
Sample estimates of statistics for all manufacturing establishments with one or more employees.

Industry Ratios

RMA Annual Statement Studies Bartle Reference HF5681.B2R6 Print book which has the ratios of hundreds of industries.

Bloomberg Terminal (requires free registration) The terminal is located in the Government Documents room right off of the Bartle Reference area. Here is a Youtube video describing how to find industry data (including ratios) in Bloomberg.

Magazine, Journal and News Articles

Business Source Ultimate
Contains, articles, company and industry profiles Click on the Company Profiles (under More) button to get company reports. Do a Publication type search for industry profiles For help, see the related tutorials.

EconLit Primary database for Economic literature.

Nexis Uni
Contains a wide variety of company information as well as newspaper and newswires articlesEc.

Global Newsstream
Includes local and national papers such as the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.

Standalone Workstations

Both of these databases are located on separate workstations inside the Government documents room (to the far left of the Bartle Research Help Desk).

Company Financials

Gale Business: Insights
Company profiles, histories, investment reports, financials, rankings; SIC and NAICS industry descriptions; newspaper and periodical articles. For help, see the tutorial. Coverage: 1980 - present.
Made available by the NOVELNY program, which makes resources available to everyone in NYS. For NYS residents outside of NYS, please see the website for more detail. For links to all NOVELNY databases, please see the NOVELNY webpage.
MarketLine Advantage
Offers a comprehensive collection of business information on company, industry and country profiles that facilitate a better understanding of the different global markets.
Covers industry and company profiles, case study reports, financial deals articles, and country reports.
Mergent Archives
Provides electronic access (in PDF format) to all Moody's/Mergent manuals ever published dating back to 1909.
The database is in two sections: Corporate and Municipal. WebReports contain more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries using an easy-to-navigate and reliable system. Updated annually. Coverage: 1909 - 2019.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
This database provides real-time access to comprehensive data and independent analysis on thousands of investments, spanning mutual funds, stocks, exchange-traded funds (ETFs), and closed-end funds.
Limited to two simultaneous users.