Subject Guides
African American History
Guide Contents
Kanopy Streaming Video
Images
- ARTstorDigital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. For assistance, contact Emily Creo.
- World Digital LibraryThis site contains significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
- Binghamton University DatabasesBinghamton University Libraries catalog of electronic materials and databases listing our resources for visual materials
- Art in Embassies (AIE)Showcases the work of more than 100 artists who have collaborated with local artists through AIE's exchange programs to produce works currently on display in embassies and consulates.
Films and Audio
Searching the Libraries' Collection for Film and Audio:
In Advanced Search in FindIt!, search for "african american" and/or any other keywords/subjects you're interested in, change "includes" to "contains exactly," and set Material Type to "Audio Visual." You can further refine the results by selecting some of the many options available in the left column of the search results.
- Black Studies CenterHistorical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Materials includes newspapers, dissertations, abolitionist papers, and oral interviews. See the Binghamton University Libraries Center for the 1960s.
Maps
Images taken from Library of Congress
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map CollectionDigitized collection of maps, including several from Africa.
(University of Texas at Austin collection) - Africa Map BetaZoom-able map images for places around the world.
(Created by Harvard University) - AfriterraAfriterra is a non-profit Cartographic Library and Archive that assembles and preserves original rare maps of Africa for education and interpretation.
- AtoZ Maps OnlineDownloadable maps including modern outline, political, thematic, topographic, scientific and animated maps, antique maps, individual countries, U.S. states, U.S. towns and cities and the USGS Topographic Map Collection.
