Subject Guides

African American History

Guide Contents

E-Reference Databases

All Africa News Feed

News Databases

To find a comprehensive list of news databases check out BU Libraries News Resources page

Access World News
Full text of regional and local newspapers for all US states and international sources.
Ethnic NewsWatch
A full-text collection of articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.
Topics covered include news, arts, business, culture, education, the environment, history, journalism, political science, sociology. Spanish language search options available.

Electronic Newspapers of Africa
An online list of African newspapers compiled by Columbia University Libraries
African Newspapers Union List
Provided by the Center for Research Libraries, this index holds information fore newspapers published from Sub-Saharan Africa.
more...less...
"The Cooperative African Newspapers Project is an initiative to enhance the utilization of newspapers as a source of information about Africa. The project explores issues related to the preservation of this ephemeral and fragile form of publication and access to contents through traditional and new technologies."

Nexis Uni
NexisUni provides access to 15,000+ news, business and legal sources. If a sign-in button appears, click the button for access.
Includes full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; articles and data on businesses, corporations, industries and markets in the U.S. and abroad; magazines and trade journals; biographical information and special directories; legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
World News Connection Archive
Translations of international news sources, including newspapers, radio and television broadcasts, etc that were compiled from the CIA's JPRS and and FBIS programs. Covers 1995-2013.
Searchable by keyword, region of the world, topic and date.
Black Studies Center
Historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Materials includes newspapers, dissertations, abolitionist papers, and oral interviews. See the Binghamton University Libraries Center for the 1960s.
Comprised of several cross-searchable, component databases: Schomburg studies on the Black experience, International index of Black periodicals (IIBP), the Chicago defender, ProQuest dissertations for Black studies, Black literature index, ProQuest Black newspapers, Black abolitionist papers, and the HistoryMakers® archive of filmed oral history interviews of 20th century African Americans

Last Updated: Jan 25, 2024 11:19 AM
URL: https://libraryguides.binghamton.edu/c.php?g=737399
Print Page

Subjects: Africana Studies

Tags: africana_studies, history