Subject Guides

African American History

Guide Contents

Subject Librarian

Contact:

mtuttle@binghamton.edu
LN 2303

(607) 777-4913

Subjects: German & Russian Studies, History, Medieval, Renaissance & Early Modern Studies, Middle Eastern & Ancient Mediterranean Studies, Russian & East European Studies

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate
Covers over 11,000 journals in all fields of study.
Peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
JSTOR
Primarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
JSTOR has a "moving wall," which represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Publishers determine the moving wall length in their license agreements with JSTOR. Moving walls may range from zero to ten years, and those with walls from zero to seven years participate in our revenue sharing program. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.

AfricaBib
Covers Africana Periodical literature, water in African, Kenya Coast, Education in Africa, Islam in Africa, Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries in Africa.
more...less...
For how to use, read the FAQs

Recommended Historical Databases

Black Studies Center
Historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Materials includes newspapers, dissertations, abolitionist papers, and oral interviews. See the Binghamton University Libraries Center for the 1960s.
Comprised of several cross-searchable, component databases: Schomburg studies on the Black experience, International index of Black periodicals (IIBP), the Chicago defender, ProQuest dissertations for Black studies, Black literature index, ProQuest Black newspapers, Black abolitionist papers, and the HistoryMakers® archive of filmed oral history interviews of 20th century African Americans
African American Historical Serials Collection
This collection documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922.
An effort to preserve endangered serials related to African American religious life and culture. Reports and annuals from African American religious organizations and social service agencies, as well as African American periodicals.
Extensive coverage of African American religious organizations, churches and institutions.
Human Rights Studies Online
A research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals, 1691-1877
Providing digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1877.
Includes: Series 1 (1691-1820), Series 2 (1821-1837), Series 3 (1838-1852), Series 4 (1853-1865), and Series 5 (1866-1877).
ACLS Humanities E-Book
Collection of over 1400 full-text, cross searchable books covering topics of interest to historians and humanities scholars.
A collection selected by historians for their continuing importance to students and scholars. Areas include: African, American, Asian, Latin American, European (Ancient, Medieval, Renaissance, and Modern), Middle Eastern, World/Comparative, Byzantine/Mediterranean and Australasian/Oceanian history, plus history of the Native Peoples of the Americas and of Science and Technology.

National Museum of African American History and Culture Database of Collection
Explore over 37,000 materials indexed and described by the Smithsonian.
National Archives: African American Heritage
Includes archive materials that are Pre-Civil War, military records, and Post-Civil War materials related to African American heritage

HRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
eHraf is an unique cross-cultural database containing more than a quarter of a million pages of descriptive information on the cultures of the world. Includes the full text of ethnographic books, journal articles and other materials that are indexed by culture and subject.
The full-text materials are subject-indexed at the paragraph-level for precise retrieval of information on all aspects of cultural and social life. These materials are relevant to the various social science disciplines as well as the humanities and health sciences.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
A digital collection of books, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, ephemera, and maps that cover politics and society, literature, spirituality, technology and more.
*Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
*Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
*British Politics and Society
*British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
*Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
*European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
*Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature
*19th Century US Newspapers
*Photography: The World through the Lens
*Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Parts I & II
*Women: Transnational Networks

Last Updated: Jan 25, 2024 11:19 AM
URL: https://libraryguides.binghamton.edu/c.php?g=737399
Print Page

Subjects: Africana Studies

Tags: africana_studies, history