Subject Guides
Community Research and Action
A guide to support research, scholarly development, and research.
Guide Contents
Sarah Maximiek
her/she
Contact:
Bartle Library / maximiek@binghamton.edu / 607.777.3941
drop in help: 3-5 Tuesdays at the UDC Library
Literature Databases
Since the program is interdisciplinary in nature, it is impossible to list all possible research databases that will be helpful to students in the program. Below are examples of databases of interest to scholars in a variety of social science and social service areas.
- ERIC (EBSCO)Contains annotated references to educational materials including journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, standards and guidelines, and science education resources. Coverage: 1966-present.
- Public Administration AbstractsIncludes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences CollectionCovers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
- Sociological AbstractsProvides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes the subset Social Services Abstracts.
- PAIS IndexCovers issues in public affairs and policy issues through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources. Coverage: 1915 - present. Strong on policy information.
- CINAHL UltimateExtensive coverage of nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health. Full text of the most influential journals in nursing.
Covers publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing.Includes health care books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts and educational software. - Web of ScienceCovers the citation indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports
Article Help
- Interlibrary LoanUse Interlibrary Loan to obtain materials not available on campus. Use your PODS user id and password to register.
