Subject Guides
German and Russian Studies
Guide Contents
German Word of the Day
Loading ...
Subject Librarian
Gateway Sites
- Germanistik im Netz - Virtuelle Fachbibliothek Germanistik A collaboration of several German libraries and other organizations, this is the largest site pulling together the best websites, databases, and other collections of material on German language, literature and culture, with search engines to allow searching across the collected sites.
- Warwick German Studies Web Links to many German sites on culture, literature, the former East Germany, language, news, film, and more. See "general sites" and links under the "Subject pages" tab.
Dictionaries and Other Tools
- BEOLINGUS Online dictionary for GermanEnglish translations, synonyms, quotes, pronounciations, and more.
- Bildwörterbuch An illustrated dictionary with over 20,000 terms and definitions, and 6,000 colour illustrations.
- Deutsches Wörterbuch by Jakob Grim and Wilhelm Grimm Begun in the early 1800's, this is the most comprehensive German dictionary. It took over a hundred years to complete and was designed to cover the German language from the time of Martin Luther to Goethe (c. 1500-mid 1800's). It includes quotations illustrating usage and etymologies.
- Duden Online Duden is the standard reference work for the German language. In German only.
- Forvo Forvo.com is an onlin pronunciation guide that offers over 1.1. million pronounciations for over 1.04 million words in 279 languages.
- Linguee Bilingual English-German / German-English dictionary by German company Linguee GmbH. Provides definitions and pronunciations, with example translations from selected reliable translation source
- PONS online dictionary German-English dictionary. Includes tips and examples covering the correct use of cases and idiomatic meanings.
- Worterbuch Netz Includes several historical and regional dictionaries which can be searched together.
- Woxikon A German dictionary that includes synonyms, abbreviations, verb conjugations, and a way to look up rhyme words.
- Oxford Language Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new window Arabic/English, Chinese/English, French/English, German/English, Italian/English, Portuguese/English, Russian/English, Spanish/English
German Language
- ActiLingua Free excellent resources for learning German.
- Deutsch-Uni Online (DUO) DUO is your easy-access go-to web portal for learning German for various purposes.
- Deutsch Akademie Over 50,000 online exercises on German grammar and vocabulary; Over 800 hours of interactive German course online.
- Foreign Service Institute German Basic Course A digitized 12-unit course on beginning German.
- Goethe Institut's Deutsch für dich Free online exercises and educational games; includes chat function to interact with other learners. Registration is required.
- Journal of Germanic Linguistics Original articles, reviews and notes on synchronic and diachronic issues pertaining to Germanic languages and dialects from the earliest phases to the present. BU Students/Faculty/Staff have searchable access to this journal through BU's databases. Please see a Reference Librarian for assistance.
