Subject Guides
- Binghamton University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Subject Guides
- German and Russian Studies
- Russian Language Media Resources
German and Russian Studies
Guide Contents
Radio & Television Broadcasts
- Voice of Russia Russian government's international radio broadcasting service owned by the All-Russia State Television and Radio Company.
- Первый канал (Channel One) Russian television station with the widest reception and biggest budget.
Subject Librarian
Russian language newspapers - many are available through BU databases (see information below)
- Argumenty i Fakty (from Russia) Weekly newspaper based in Moscow. Argumenty i Fakty is also available to BU students/faculty/staff through databases - see a reference librarian for assistance.
- Izvestiia (from Russia) A newspaper of record in the Soviet Union from 1917 until the dissolution of the USSR in 1991. Now describes itself as a "national" newspaper of Russia. The Izvestiia Digital Archive is available to BU students/faculty/staff - see below.
- Izvestiia Digital Archive, 1917-2010 The complete archive of Izvestiia, the Kremlin's newspaper of record. The Izvestiia Digital Archive is full-image with text, allows browsing and is full-text searchable. Also has a Cyrillic virtual keyboard and the ability to search in transliteration.
- Moskovskij Komsomolets Moscow-based daily newspaper covering general news. Founded in 1919, it is now regarded as publishing sensational or provocative items on Russian politics and society.
- Nezavisimaya Gazeta First published on 21 December 1990 and was one of the most important daily newspapers in the early post-Soviet period, when it was seen as close to the opinion of the Moscow intelligentsia. Covers the issues of politics, society, culture and art. Nezavisimaya Gazeta is also available to BU students/faculty/staff through databases - see a reference librarian for assistance.
- Pravda Digital Archive, 1912-present Full-text full-image access to the Russian newspaper, Pravda. Searching can be done with cyrillic-enabled keyboards, the databases' virtual cyrillic keyboard, or with transliteration.
- TASS The St. Petersburg Telegraph Agency (SPTA), the first official news agency of Russia and the predecessor of ITAR-TASS, began to operate on September 1, 1904. Today, TASS is Russia’s leading state news agency, and on September 1, 2020, the agency celebrated its 116th anniversary.
Other Resources
- BBC Russian Service Current events and news in Russia.
- onlinenewspapers.com Extensive list of Russian newspapers online. You can also find newspapers from the Ukraine and Belarus through onlinenewspapers.com.
- Polit.ru A Russian-language, free news service. [1999 - present]
- RIA Novosti Operating under the purview of the Russian Ministry of Communications and Mass Media, RIA Novosti is headquartered in Moscow and operated about 80 bureaus internationally. Back issues of RIA Novosti (up to 2016) are available to BU students/faculty/staff electronically.
