Subject Guides
- Binghamton University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Subject Guides
- German and Russian Studies
- German Language Media Resources
German and Russian Studies
Guide Contents
Radio & Television Broadcasts
- ARTE Arte is a Franco-German TV network that promotes programming in the areas of culture and the arts.
- Deutsche Welle German International broadcasting station offering top stories, analysis and press reviews.
- Deutschlandradio German news radio.
- ProSieben ProSieben is a commercial television station in Germany distributed to a large extent via cable and satellite. Although some of ProSieben’s programming is self-produced, it also airs many North American imports. The best part is that you can watch those TV shows, magazines and event shows on their online VOD platform.
- radio.ARD.de From BR (Bayerischer Rundfunk) in the south to NDR (Norddeutscher Rundfunk) in the north - local, national and international happenings, combined with cultural and lifestyle programming.
- Tagesschau Tagesschau is a German national and international television news service produced by Norddeutscher Rundfunk (NDR) on behalf of the German public-service television network ARD
- ZDF ZDF is the second German public-service television broadcaster. It is run as an independent non-profit institution, which was founded by all federal states of Germany.
Subject Librarian
German language newspapers - many available through BU databases (see information below)
- Der Spiegel Germany's biggest newsweekly published in Hamburg. Der Spiegel is also available to BU students/faculty/staff through databases - see a reference librarian for assistance.
- Deutschland Touted as "your link to Germany." Covers politics, culture, business and science.
- Die Presse Selected articles from one of Vienna's newspapers. Access to full articles from Die Presse is also available to BU students/faculty/staff through BU databases - see a reference librarian for assistance.
- Die Stern Weekly news magazine. Die Stern is also available to BU students/faculty/staff through the Nexis Uni database - see a reference librarian for assistance.
- Die Welt Online Online version of the magazine. Die Welt is also available to BU students/faculty/staff through BU databases - see a reference librarian for assistance.
- Die Zeit Highly respected for its quality journalism, published in Hamburg. Die Zeit is also available to BU students/faculty/staff through the Nexis Uni database - see a reference librarian for assistance.
- Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung The Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, short F.A.Z., also known as the FAZ, is a national German newspaper. The Sunday edition is the Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung (F.A.S.). Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung is also available to BU students/faculty/staff through the Global Newstream database - see a reference librarian for assistance.
- Neue Zurcher Zeitung (NZZ) Online Neue Zurcher Zeitung is also available to BU students/faculty/staff through BU databases - see a reference librarian for assistance.
- Süddeutsche Zeitung Published in Munich, Bavaria, is one of the largest daily newspapers in Germany. Süddeutsche Zeitung is also available to BU students/faculty/staff through databases - see a reference librarian for assistance.
Other Resources
- Merkur Online The online portal Merkur.de is one of the highest coverage news sites in Munich and the region of Upper Bavaria.
- world-newspapers.com Collection of online German newspapers with good descriptions of the focus of each paper.
