Last Updated: Jun 25, 2014
Simultaneously search CINHAL, Health Source, Health Reference Centre, MEDLINE, and PubMed for articles.
Most of your research will require you to identify and locate peer reviewed journal articles. Journal articles can be found by searching specialized databases such as the ones listed below.
Some databases include links to the full text article (look for a pdf or html link). If the article is not available in the database click on the Getit@BU icon to see if the article is available online through another Library database. More information on finding journal articles is available on the “Finding Articles” guide.
- CINAHL Complete
Provides articles about nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health.
Provides information on over 9500 clinical topics in 20 specialities
Contains evidence-based articles, reviews, protocols, clinical trials, technology assessments, and economic evaluations.
- Nursing Procedures and Skills
Provides detailed descriptions of procedures that allows users to identify the procedure they need quickly and easily. Search by alphabetical list, browse by nursing or clinical category, or perform a search to identify a particular procedure.
- MEDLINE with Fulltext
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
- Health Source: Nursing
Provides more than 580 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
Includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's.
- Nursing Streaming Videos
Streaming video package from MedCom, a leading producer and distributor of multi-media healthcare education. The package includes 100 videos selected to complement the teaching and research needs of Binghamton University students and faculty. Topics covered by the videos include assessmentof the newborn, preventing medication errors and wound care.The streaming videos are easily accessed through the Libraries' Catalogue and Nursing Subject guide and are available to users both on campus and off.
For assistance see: http://libraryguides.binghamton.edu/uspnf
A combination of two compendia, the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF). It contains standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, biologics, compounded preparations, medical devices, dietary supplements, and other therapeutics. The current version of USP–NF standards deemed official by USP are enforceable by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration for medicines manufactured and marketed in the United States. Due to license agreement, only one user at a time.
Pubget is a search engine for PDFs in the life sciences. Indexes nearly 20 million life science research documents, including those in PubMed®. Search it like you would PubMed or Google Scholar. The difference is Pubget gets you the PDF right away.
Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Alternate "shell" for searching PubMed and limiting/organizing/understanding the results. In results, click on the PMID to see abstract
If you can not find the journal article or book you are looking for, either through or by searching the Library Catalog, you can request it by using ILLiad, the Inter-Libary Loan system.
ILLIad is simple to use - you follow the on-screen directions to set up an account with your PODs username and password. Once the account is set up, you can request books and articles we do not own using your account.
Material may be sent to you electronically or shipped in paper form, depending on the provider. Materials may arrive in a few days (such as electronic delivery), but can take up to two weeks. Notification will be sent via e-mail to your binghamton.edu account.
Go to the InterLibrary Loan homepage for more information on Inter-Library Loan (such as policies, due dates, etc.)