Indexes over 500,000 articles from academic and popular film journals. Also includes the International Index to TV Periodicals, Treasures from the Film Archives, silent film holdings archives and International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.
This film studies database was created by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF). Coverage: 1972 - present.
General database, covering many topics, including cinema.
Peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001. The print version of FLI is available in the Film/Theater Index area of Bartle Reference. The online version is no longer being updated.
Full text for many of the most important academic sources in the humanities.
Humanities Source provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas and more. Coverage: 1910 - present.
Some good coverage of film criticism. Does not cover recent articles published in the past 3-5 years.
JSTOR has a "moving wall," which represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Publishers determine the moving wall length in their license agreements with JSTOR. Moving walls may range from zero to ten years, and those with walls from zero to seven years participate in our revenue sharing program. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
General index covering many topics. Less scholarly than other cinema databases, but still has good content.
Searchable full text for over 1,860 journals. Full text dating as far back as January 1990. Abstracts and indexing for over 2,800 journals, many dating back to 1984. Charts, tables and graphs converted to ASCII text searchable full text for nearly 5,000 Magill's Book Reviews.Essential Documents in American History, a database of over 1,000 original historical documents including The Bill of Rights, The Constitution, The Federalist Papers and the speeches of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Coverage of The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal. Includes Image Collection, This subset to MasterFILE Premier provides access to worldly images relating to people, places, natural science, maps and flags. The collection contains photographs, images from Canadian Press, Maps from MapQuest, and photographs from public domain sources.
Despite the title, this database does index Cinema journals.
Also includes BIOSIS Citation Index, Data Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Derwent Innovation Index. Medline (1950-present), Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and Zoological Records.
International Index to Film Periodicals
This is one of the most complete indexes to film criticism. It is available in print format only and is located in the Bartle Reference Index section at Ref Z5784.M9 I49.