Cinema

This collection contains posters and lobby cards, movie, radio and television scripts, correspondence, contracts, photographs, promotional materials and ephemera. Included are materials related to such stars as Gene Kelly, Abbot and Costello, Annette Funicello, Greer Garson and Charles Laughton. The collection contains over 400 scripts, including Gene Kelly's personal copy of the script to An American in Paris. There is also a number of film stills and cast photographs from Mack Sennett productions.

In addition, there is a small collection of materials related to horror and crime fiction including typed manuscripts and correspondence. Represented are authors such as Robert Bloch and Ed Wood.

Graphic materials include and early poster from a stage production of Uncle Tom’s Cabin, measuring 7 ½  x 13 ½ feet and early Flea Circus wall panels.

Materials from the McLoughlin Collection can be viewed in Special Collections but cannot be checked out.

Special Collections and the Binghamton University Archives are located on the second floor north of Glenn G. Bartle Library.

Access to Special Collections is Monday through Friday, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. during the Fall and Spring semesters. Hours may vary during intersessions and in the summer.

It is usually advisable to contact Special Collections to discuss requests in advance so that materials will be ready when you arrive.

Phone 607-777-4844 or email Special Collections.

To search the collection, use this Finding Aid.

Many, though not all, of the film scripts can also be found via our catalog.  Use the search terms scripts and McLaughlin.

To use the Finding Aid, just click on each box name [e.g. Box 1: Movie Scripts] and you will get a listing of the folders inside of that box.