Researchers may want to know how many times their own work has been referenced, or measure how often a journal has been cited, before submitting a work to it for publication. There are various metrics at the author, article and journal level.
While researching, using cited works as a tool is an easy way to dig deeper into relevant sources, including ones that may not show up easily in databases (such as unpublished works or datasets).
Using cited works can point a researcher into new directions or new disciplinary areas to pursue for their topic.
By reviewing the cited works, a researcher will start to notice patterns of authors and works, and can start to recognize fundamental works and important researchers in their field.
These databases and platforms can be used to locate where articles have been cited.
Standard database for citation searching. In addition, WoS offers a visual Citation Map tool, and Author Citation Reports. See the Web Of Science tab for more information. Strongest in the Sciences, and does not index monographs.
Also includes BIOSIS Citation Index, Data Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Derwent Innovation Index. Medline (1950-present), Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and Zoological Records.
For more information using Google Scholar "cited by" feature, please see the Google Scholar page.
Ebsco provides, in selected databases, a link to search for "Cited References" at the top of the screen. Also, in selected databases, the "Cited References" link in an article citation will allow you to find articles that have cited the article you are viewing. Ebsco also features the PlumX metric tool in some databases. Ebsco has more information on these features.
While reviewing results, there will be a "Cited by" link under the article. Not available for all articles.