Subject Guides
Citation Analysis & Metrics
Locate impact factors and related measures, how to locate where and how often authors and articles are cited, and how to create scholar profiles.
Guide Contents
Introduction
- You may want to know how many times a work has been referenced (or cited) when searching on a topic. There are metrics at the author, article and journal level.
- While researching, identifying cited works is an easy way to dig deeper into relevant sources, including ones that may not show up easily (such as unpublished works or datasets).
- Using cited works can point a researcher into new directions or new disciplinary areas.
- By reviewing cited works, a researcher can see patterns in topics, fundamental works, and important researchers on a topic.
Databases
These databases and vendor platforms contain article citation counts for individual items.
- BIOSIS Citation IndexThe world's most comprehensive database on life science research. Includes cited references to primary journal literate, research reports and reviews.
- Ebsco databasesEbsco provides, in selected databases, a link to search for "Cited References" at the top of the screen. Also, in selected databases, the "Cited References" link in an article citation will allow you to find articles that have cited the article you are viewing. Ebsco also features the PlumX metric tool in some databases. Ebsco has more information on these features.
- Google ScholarFor more information using Google Scholar "cited by" feature, please see the Google Scholar page.
- ProquestWhile reviewing results, there will be a "Cited by" link under the article. Not available for all articles.
- ScienceDirectOnce the article has been located, click on the article title. The "Cited By" link will bring up other articles in Science Direct that have cited the original article.
- CAS SciFinder-nCAS SciFinder-n provides reference, substance, reaction and supplier content and relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more.
- Web of ScienceStandard database for citation searching. In addition, WoS offers a visual Citation Map tool, and Author Citation Reports. See the Web Of Science tab for more information. Strongest in the Sciences, and does not index monographs.
Page maintained by Sarah Maximiek. Material on Altmetrics and Scopus created by Elise Thorney, MLIS Student, Syracuse Univeristy iSchool
