Subject Guides
Latin American History
Guide Contents
Subject Librarian
Related Subject Guides
Databases
- Historical Abstracts with Full TextCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- Chicano DatabaseIndexes journal articles, books, newspaper articles, and book chapters dealing on all aspects of Latino life. Strongest for Chicanos/Mexican-Americans, but also includes content on other Latin American populations living in the United States including Puerto Ricans, Dominicans, Cuban Americans, and Central Americans.
- Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth CenturyPrimary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; and audio and video.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI Online)Indexes journals about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the U.S. and includes a wide range of topics. Topics include politics and government, public administration, foreign relations, commerce and trade, banking and finance, business and industry, economic development and policy issues, economic integration, social movements, indigenous affairs, gender studies, environmental issues, drug trade, history, geography, archaeology, anthropology, ethnography, folklore.
- REDALyCAllows you to search for the full-text of articles from approximately 300 journals published in Latin America, the Caribbean, and the Iberian Peninsula. La Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal (RedALyC)'s interface is in Spanish.
- CLASCOSearches the full-text of articles, dissertations, and books in the social sciences. Includes some links to multi-media. Based in Argentina, but with contributing organizations from around the Latin America. Available in English, Spanish, Portuguese, and French.
- SCIELOScientific Electronic Online Library is a project to provide the free full-text of articles published in journals from Latin America. Website interface is available in English, Spanish, and Portuguese. Strongest in the sciences, but quite a number of titles are available in the Social Sciences and Humanities.
- DialnetDialnet provides bibliographic information and some full-text for articles published in journals from Spain and Latin America. Website interface is in Spanish and English.
- LAPTOCLAPTOC provides the table of contents for more than 800 journals from Latin America and the Caribbean. Focus is on the Humanities and Social Sciences journals. Can search the database by keyword or browse journal titles by country of publication.
- LatIndexLatIndex provides contact information about journals published in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. Multidisciplinary in scope. Search by journal title or browse by discipline or country of publication. Provides some links to full-text journals.
- Digitial Library of the CaribbeandLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries and private collections.
General Databases
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
- Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineA database consisting of over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) based on the English Short Title Catalogue. It includes over 33 million full-text searchable images of books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. Although primarily in English, the database also includes many items published in other European languages.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online
A digital collection of books, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, ephemera, and maps that cover politics and society, literature, spirituality, technology and more.
- (London) Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019
Full-image online archive of every page published by The Times (London) from 1785-2019. For more recent coverage, use our Journal Title search.
- Proquest Historical Newspapers
The complete content of selected newspaper titles: Boston Globe,1872 start date; Chicago Defender, 1909-1975; Chicago Tribune, 1849 start date; New York Amsterdam News, 1922-2010; New York Herald/Tribune, 1924 start date; New York Times, 1851 start date; Los Angeles Times, 1881 start date; Philadelphia Inquirer/Public Ledger, 1860 start date; South China Morning Post, 1903 start date; Times of India, 1838-2010; Wall Street Journal, 1889 start date; Washington Post, 1877-start date.
- Women and Social Movements, International, 1840 to PresentOnline archive of published and manuscript primary sources focusing on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century.
