Subject Guides
- Binghamton University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Subject Guides
- Korean Studies
- Korean Language & Literature
Korean Studies
Guide Contents
Korean Literature History
History of Korean Literature by
This comprehensive narrative history of Korean literature provides essential information for scholars and students as well as others. Combining history and criticism, the study reflects the latest scholarship and includes an account of the development of all genres. In 25 chapters, it covers twentieth-century poetry, fiction by women, and the literature of North Korea. It will be a major contribution to the field and a study that will remain for many years the primary resource for studying Korean literature.
Call Number: PL956 .H57 2003ISBN: 0521828589
Introduction to Classical Korean Literature by
This work provides an introduction to some of the most important and representative genres of classical Korean literature. Coverage includes: Samguk sagi and samguk yusa as literature; Kunmong and Unyongchon; the lyricism of Koryo songs; and the literature of Chosen Dynasty Women.
Call Number: PL956 .K48 1996ISBN: 1563247852
Reference
- Pʻyojun kugŏ taesajŏn=표준국어대사전/ 국립국어연구원 byCall Number: Bartle Ref. -- PL935 .P88 1999
- 教學大漢韓辤典 byCall Number: Bartle Library Reference -- PL935.5 .K96 2003
- 國語國文學資料辭典 Kugŏ kungmunhak charyo sajŏn byCall Number: Bartle Reference PL903 .K84 2000
Other Online Resources
- e-Library, Korea Literature Translation InstituteThe e-library provides translations of Korean literature into over 26 languages, as well as numerous dictionaries, reference books, periodicals, and audio-visual materials. .
Language and Grammar
Korean by
Spoken by nearly 70 million people not only within the Korean Peninsula but also in five continents, Korean is one of a dozen major languages of the world. Yet outside Korea it is not as much studied as it should be, nor has it acquired commensurate international recognition. With its difficult sound system, rich word formation patterns, and complex sentence structures, Korean is one of the most challenging to learn as a foreign language, yet there is little that is written in English about Korean. This book eminently fills this gap. The author presents Korean in a lucid and readable manner covering topics from scripts to sounds, from words to sentences, and from discourse to text analysis. It is therefore both comprehensive and concise. It avoids unnecessary details but includes all essential subjects, and describes them in a well-organized theory-free prose. This book should be a handy reference for both teachers and students of Korean, especially those abroad.
Call Number: PL911 .C44 1996ISBN: 1556197284
500 Basic Korean Verbs by
This is a complete study guide to the most common Korean verbs Korean verbs are notorious in their difficulty for foreigners to master. East-to-use 500 Basic Korean Verbs is the only comprehensive guide to the correct usage of Korean verbs available for English-speaking learners. Each of the 500 most important Korean verbs is presented in a convenient single-page format that gives the verb's meaning and pronunciation, and displays the verb's 48 key tenses, speech levels, and moods (all accompanied by romanizations). Also included are a handy guide to verb conjugation and reference tables of basic Korean verb types, along with 3 indexes (romanized, Hangeul, and English). Included in this book are: Conjugations by tense, speech levels, and mood. "Model verb" system quickly identifies each verb's pattern. Sample sentenes demonstrating the verb's correct usage. Free downloadable audio provides pronunciations for the verbs and 1,000 example sentences. Includes Korean characters (Hangul) as well as romanized pronunciations to help English speakers. Two—color design makes reference easy.
ISBN: 9781462913671Publication Date: 2013-12-19
Reference Grammar of Korean by Call Number: PL911 .M27 1992ISBN: 0804818878
