Subject Guides
Korean Studies
Guide Contents
Databases
- Historical Abstracts with Full TextCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
eBooks
Korean Studies in America
History
- Korean War byCall Number: DS918 .K53 1985ISBN: 0151472882
Routledge Handbook of Modern Korean History by
Beginning in the mid-nineteenth century when Korea became entangled in the world of modern imperialism and the old social, economic and political order began to change; this handbook brings together cutting edge scholarship on major themes in Korean History. Contributions by experts in the field cover the Late Choson and Colonial periods, Korea's partition and the diverging paths of North and South Korea. Topics covered include: The division of Korea Religion Competing imperialisms Economic change War and rebellions Nationalism Gender North Korea Under Kim Jong Il Global Korea The Handbook provides a stimulating introduction to the most important themes within the subject area, and is an invaluable reference work for any student and researcher of Korean History.
Call Number: Bartle Library (DS907.18 .R68 2017 )ISBN: 0415739314Publication Date: 2016-02-01
Other Online Resources
- Korean History: A BibliographyThis bibliography covers many features of Korean history. The subjects include not only political, diplomatic, and economic history, but also historical linguistics, art history, literature, philosophy and religion, and overseas Koreans, for example. Chronologically, coverage concludes in the 1960s.
- Center for Korean Studies Materials [Korean]The resources include ancient census records, land registry records, property deeds, geographical treatises, Uigwe (Record of Superintendence of the Chosun Dynasty) and personal diaries and etc.
- Korean History DB [ Korean]The Korean History DB offers the full text of major Korean history materials published or hold by the National Institute of Korean History. There are four categories of DB: Basic original materials of Korean history, Periodicals and materials published by the National Institute of Korean History, The DB of compiled materials such as the personal data in the modern Korea, and The materials of outside institutes.
- Korean History Online [Korean]The Korean History On-line provides the search service for various history data. Language in Korean
- Annals of the Chosun DynastyThe website comprises 1,893 books covering 472 years (1392-1863) of the history of the Choson Dynasty. Thick extensive set of records is considered to deal with the longest period of a single dynasty in the world.
- NLK: Korean Old and Rare Collection Information SystemThe Union catalog of Korean Rare Books including list of rare books in 55 Korean university libraries and 37 overseas institutes in Japan, Taiwan, Russia, America & etc.
