It includes a collection of ASIAN STUDIES. The history and culture of Asia is illustrated through a vast range of images that includes ceramics, sculptures, scrolls, calligraphy, screens, costumes, watercolors, paintings, shrines, buildings, and photographs, from traditional forms to contemporary works.
For more detailed information about ARTstor's collections, see What's in ARTstor. Note: This resource will return the number of hits if it is fewer than 200. Otherwise, it will report 'Hits were found'. In either case, a link to results is provided.
Hanʼguk chŏntʻong yejŏl / 韓國傳統禮節 by Kim Sŏk-jin chŏ/金碩鎭 著
A web directory includes heritage clarification, heritage search by area, heritage statistics, royal palaces, royal tomb, preservation Projects and e-Resource of international conventions, conferences and others.
Korean Culture, Myths and Legends
Korean Popular Culture Reader by Kyung Hyun Kim (Editor); Youngmin Choe (Editor)Over the past decade, Korean popular culture has become a global phenomenon. The "Korean Wave" of music, film, television, sports, and cuisine generates significant revenues and cultural pride in South Korea. The Korean Popular Culture Reader provides a timely and essential foundation for the study of "K-pop," relating the contemporary cultural landscape to its historical roots. The essays in this collection reveal the intimate connections of Korean popular culture, or hallyu, to the peninsula's colonial and postcolonial histories, to the nationalist projects of the military dictatorship, and to the neoliberalism of twenty-first-century South Korea. Combining translations of seminal essays by Korean scholars on topics ranging from sports to colonial-era serial fiction with new work by scholars based in fields including literary studies, film and media studies, ethnomusicology, and art history, this collection expertly navigates the social and political dynamics that have shaped Korean cultural production over the past century. Contributors. Jung-hwan Cheon, Michelle Cho, Youngmin Choe, Steven Chung, Katarzyna J. Cwiertka, Stephen Epstein, Olga Fedorenko, Kelly Y. Jeong, Rachael Miyung Joo, Inkyu Kang, Kyu Hyun Kim, Kyung Hyun Kim, Pil Ho Kim, Boduerae Kwon, Regina Yung Lee, Sohl Lee, Jessica Likens, Roald Maliangkay, Youngju Ryu, Hyunjoon Shin, Min-Jung Son, James Turnbull, Travis Workman
Publication Date: 2014
Introduction to Korean Culture by John H. Koo (Editor); Andrew C. Nahm (Editor)
Call Number: DS904 .K664 1997
Illustrated Guide to Korean Mythology by Won-Oh ChoiThis highly engaging volume by one of Korea’s leading scholars of comparative mythology – the the first study of its kind in English – provides a valuable introduction to centuries-old beliefs, myths and folk tales relating to Cosmology and Flood, Birth and Agriculture, Messengers of the Underworld, Shamans, Disease, Good Fortune, Love and Family, Gods of Village Shrines, and Heroes.
Publication Date: 2008
Myths and Legends from Korea by James Huntley GraysonContains 175 tales drawn equally from the ancient and modern periods, plus 16 further tales provided for comparative purposes. Three broad classes of material are included in the text: foundation myths of ancient states and clans, ancient folktales and legends, and modern folktales. Each narrative contains information on its source and provenance, and on its folklore type, similarities to folklore types from China, Japan and elsewhere.