Subject Guides

HDEV 465- Researching Immigrant Lives

This guide was created to highlight resources on the study of immigrant lives.

Guide Contents

Subject Librarian

Sarah Maximiek

her/she

Contact:

Bartle Library / maximiek@binghamton.edu / 607.777.3941

drop in help: 3-5 Tuesdays at the UDC Library

Subjects: Community Research and Action PhD, Human Development, Public Administration, Social Work, Sustainable Communities

Article Databases

Sociological Abstracts
Provides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes the subset Social Services Abstracts.
Social Sciences Full Text
Full-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. Coverage: 1972-present.
Diversity Studies OneFile
Literature that explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. Coverage begins in 1980.
HRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
eHraf is an unique cross-cultural database containing more than a quarter of a million pages of descriptive information on the cultures of the world. Includes the full text of ethnographic books, journal articles and other materials that are indexed by culture and subject.
The full-text materials are subject-indexed at the paragraph-level for precise retrieval of information on all aspects of cultural and social life. These materials are relevant to the various social science disciplines as well as the humanities and health sciences.
PsycINFO (APA)
Covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. Coverage: 1887-current.
Chicano Database
Indexes journal articles, books, newspaper articles, and book chapters dealing on all aspects of Latino life. Strongest for Chicanos/Mexican-Americans, but also includes content on other Latin American populations living in the United States including Puerto Ricans, Dominicans, Cuban Americans, and Central Americans.
Topics include the arts, economics, education, folklore, gender studies, health, history, labor, law, mental health, poetry, politics, and sociology. Coverage: 1960- (for Chicanos) 1992- (for other Latino populations)
Academic Search Ultimate
Covers over 11,000 journals in all fields of study.
Peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
America: History & Life with Full Text
Literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1700 journals, provides full text of 200 titles.
The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Political Science Complete
Scholarly articles and other literature that is international in scope covering all areas of Political Science.
Indexes and abstracts more than 800 journals in Political Science, providing full-text for approximately 500. Also provides full-text of more than 36,000 conference papers, including the papers of the International Political Science Association.

Other Literature

News Resources
Where to search for US and international newspaper articles in full-text.

Black Studies Center
Historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Materials includes newspapers, dissertations, abolitionist papers, and oral interviews.
Comprised of several cross-searchable, component databases: Schomburg studies on the Black experience, International index of Black periodicals (IIBP), the Chicago defender, ProQuest dissertations for Black studies, Black literature index, ProQuest Black newspapers, Black abolitionist papers, and the HistoryMakers® archive of filmed oral history interviews of 20th century African Americans
Ethnic NewsWatch
A full-text collection of articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.
Topics covered include news, arts, business, culture, education, the environment, history, journalism, political science, sociology. Spanish language search options available.
Hispanic Life in America
Hispanic American experience from 1904 to the present day, as portrayed by the media. It cultivates more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals and is updated daily.
Searchable by using keywords or over 700 suggested searches organized by historical eras, themes, topical areas and events. Users can also search by date or map. Includes series 1, 2, 3
North American Immigrant Diaries, Letters and Oral Histories
Letters, diaries and transcripts of oral histories that provide an unique view of immigration to the United States and Canada between 1800-1950.

More Information

American Immigration Council
UN - Migration
Provides links to all the various UN sources related to migration.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Can download the statistics files as Excel files. Coverage: 1878-ongoing
Bartle HA206 .S8 for print.

Migration Data
for statistics and data, both national and international

Last Updated: Jan 17, 2025 4:23 PM
URL: https://libraryguides.binghamton.edu/immigration
Print Page

Subjects: Human Development

Tags: course_page, human_development, immigration