Subject Guides
- Binghamton University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Course Pages
- HDEV 465- Researching Immigrant Lives
- Literature and other Sources
HDEV 465- Researching Immigrant Lives
This guide was created to highlight resources on the study of immigrant lives.
Guide Contents
Subject Librarian
Sarah Maximiek
her/she
Contact:
Bartle Library / maximiek@binghamton.edu / 607.777.3941
drop in help: 3-5 Tuesdays at the UDC Library / Commons
Article Databases
- Sociological AbstractsProvides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes the subset Social Services Abstracts.
- Social Sciences Full TextFull-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. Coverage: 1972-present.
- Diversity Studies OneFile
Literature that explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. Coverage begins in 1980.
- HRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windoweHraf is an unique cross-cultural database containing more than a quarter of a million pages of descriptive information on the cultures of the world. Includes the full text of ethnographic books, journal articles and other materials that are indexed by culture and subject.
- PsycINFO (APA)Covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. Coverage: 1887-current.
- Chicano DatabaseIndexes journal articles, books, newspaper articles, and book chapters dealing on all aspects of Latino life. Strongest for Chicanos/Mexican-Americans, but also includes content on other Latin American populations living in the United States including Puerto Ricans, Dominicans, Cuban Americans, and Central Americans.
- America: History & Life with Full TextLiterature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1700 journals, provides full text of 200 titles.
- Political Science CompleteScholarly articles and other literature that is international in scope covering all areas of Political Science.
Other Literature
- News ResourcesWhere to search for US and international newspaper articles in full-text.
- Black Studies CenterHistorical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Materials includes newspapers, dissertations, abolitionist papers, and oral interviews. See the Binghamton University Libraries Center for the 1960s.
- Ethnic NewsWatchA full-text collection of articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.
- Hispanic Life in AmericaHispanic American experience from 1904 to the present day, as portrayed by the media. It cultivates more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals and is updated daily.
- North American Immigrant Diaries, Letters and Oral HistoriesLetters, diaries and transcripts of oral histories that provide an unique view of immigration to the United States and Canada between 1800-1950.
More Information
- UN - MigrationProvides links to all the various UN sources related to migration.
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesAn authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Can download the statistics files as Excel files. Coverage: 1878-ongoing
- Migration Datafor statistics and data, both national and international
