Subject Guides

English

Guide Contents

Introduction

Search the Libraries' streaming video subscriptions to find films and recorded theater performances.

Streaming Video

Academic Video Online AVON
Academic Video Online offers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
See Find and Using Streaming Video for information.
Digital Theatre +
An extensive repertoire of full length productions of historic plays, modern dramas, musicals, and adaptations of classic novels on the English stage, along with music and dance performances, interviews and conversations with leading industry figures, as well as detailed historical, social and political context guides that encourage engagement with the language, form and structure of plays.
Drama Online
Streaming video of performances, playscripts, criticism, and performance practice from leading theatre publishers and companies in the following collections: Shakespeare’s Globe Screen 1 and 2, National Theatre Collection 2, National Theatre Collection 3, Royal Shakespeare Company Live, Stratford Festival Shakespeare Collection, Critical Studies and Performance Practice, Core Collection, Oberon Books, Nick Hern Books Modern Plays
Kanopy
Includes films from suppliers including California Newsreel, Green Planet Films, PBS, New Day Films, HBO Documentaries, First Run, FilmRise, and others. Faculty and Instructors: read Requesting a title in Kanopy before assigning a film to your class.
Excluded collections: most Samuel Goldwyn Films, Transmission, AVON and Breaking Glass. See Find and Using Streaming Video for information.
National Theatre Collection
Provides access to high definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. See Find and Using Streaming Video for information
Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, this collection offers a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive.
Theatre in Video (Volume I)
Live video of the original productions of some of the most important theatre performances of the 20th century.
Theater
From the most important productions of Shakespeare to rare in-depth footage focusing on the work of Samuel Beckett, Theatre in Video, when complete, will offer more than 500 hours of online streaming video, available electronically for the first time. With live television broadcasts of New York productions from the 50s, revivals of classic works and experimental performances from the 60s and 70s, as well as important contemporary performances, Theatre in Video covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Unlike Hollywood adaptations, these are the actual original productions, captured and recorded while performed for a live theatre audience.
Theatre in Video (Volume II)
Brings together 400 hours of new, international, and contemporary performances; ground-breaking documentaries; and critical instructional series for theatre and drama programs across the globe.
Includes live performance and cinematic productions of plays from classical playwrights such as Shakespeare, Moliere, Voltaire, and Chekhov, while also incorporating new, contemporary writers such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Alexander Buzo, and William Yang. See Find and Using Streaming Video for information.

Last Updated: Oct 14, 2024 11:43 AM
URL: https://libraryguides.binghamton.edu/english
Print Page

Subjects: English

Tags: english