Subject Guides
Guide Contents
Introduction
Use FindIt!, and the Digital Collections resources (to the right), to find print and electronic primary and secondary source books by (and about) authors, titles, periods, and subjects.
Books at the Library
A visual guide to searching for, locating, and checking out books. Also see our Finding Books guide for a FAQ.
A quick visual guide to searching for only ebooks and how to download individual chapters or entire copies to your own computer. For more details on ebooks, see our in-depth Ebooks guide.
Find It! Search
Book Reviews
Search the Libraries' literature databases for book reviews.
Digital Collections
- Early American Fiction, 1789-1875Early American Fiction 1789–1875 offers the full text of 875 first editions of American novels and short stories by such authors as Louisa May Alcott, Herman Melville, Harriet Beecher Stowe and Mark Twain.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
- Eighteenth-Century FictionA collection of 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780 by writers from the British Isles, including Daniel Defoe, Henry Fielding, Eliza Haywood, Samuel Richardson, Tobias Smollett, Laurence Sterne and Jonathan Swift
- Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineOver 180,000 full-text books based on the English Short Title Catalogue.
- Nineteenth-Century Fiction, 1782-1903Collection of 250 British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903, stretching from the golden age of Gothic fiction to the Decadent and New Woman novels of the 1890s
