Subject Guides
Guide Contents
Introduction
Use these subscription databases to find scholarly research and criticism (articles), dissertations and theses, plot summaries, and the full text of fiction, poetry, and drama titles.
Literature Databases
- Artemis Literary SourcesProvides full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
- Dissertations & Theses GlobalInternational in scope, this database offers indexing and text for dissertations and theses from 1743 to the present. Full text for some dissertations before 1997, full text for most works added since 1997.
- Eighteenth-Century FictionA collection of 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780 by writers from the British Isles, including Daniel Defoe, Henry Fielding, Eliza Haywood, Samuel Richardson, Tobias Smollett, Laurence Sterne and Jonathan Swift
- Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineOver 180,000 full-text books based on the English Short Title Catalogue.
- English DramaUnique collection of more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles to the comedies of Oscar Wilde.
- Literary Reference SourceAuthor biographies, plot summaries and work overviews, full-text essays from leading publishers, literary reference books and monographs, cover-to-cover full text for literary magazines and journals, book reviews, poems from hundreds of sources, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and much more.
- Literature Criticism OnlineCovers a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Contains Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
- Literature Online (LION)Over a third of a million full-text works of poetry, prose and drama in English, together with the definitive online criticism and reference library.
- Literature Resource CenterAccess biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism. Contains Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, and more.
- LitFinderCovering world literature and authors throughout history. Includes over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.
- Masterplots IV Edition This link opens in a new windowProvides reference data, plot synopses where applicable, and critical evaluations of a comprehensive selection of English-language and world literature that has been translated into English.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full TextSubjects covered include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts. Citations of journal articles, books and dissertations are included.
- Nineteenth-Century Fiction, 1782-1903Collection of 250 British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903, stretching from the golden age of Gothic fiction to the Decadent and New Woman novels of the 1890s
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online
A digital collection of books, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, ephemera, and maps that cover politics and society, literature, spirituality, technology and more.
