Subject Guides
Russian and East European Studies
Guide Contents
Subject Librarian
Web Sources
- Carnegie Moscow Center A leading source of analysis on Russia and the countries of the former Soviet Union. Publishes work in Russian and English that covers a broad array of issues, including domestic politics, societal trends, economics, foreign policy, and nuclear nonproliferation.
- H-Russia H-RUSSIA encourages scholarly discussion of Russian and Soviet history and makes available diverse bibliographical, research and teaching aids.
- Medieval and Early Modern Russia and Ukraine Provide links to resources for the teaching and learning of the early history of the areas encompassed primarily by today's Ukraine and the European parts of Russia and some adjoining regions of Eastern Europe. The particular focus is on the culture of the Orthodox East Slavs; the period to be covered extends to approximately 1700. The emphasis is on material available in English.
- New York Public Library's Slavic and Baltic Division The New York Public Library’s holdings of Slavic and East European materials extend from early 14th century illuminated manuscripts to the latest imprints. Materials in the vernacular Slavic and East European languages number well in excess of 500,000 bound volumes, and 24,000 microform titles. Upwards of 300,000 volumes of works about these lands and peoples in other world languages and formats are held by NYPL. Relevant materials in Hebrew and Yiddish, as well as the Turkic and other languages.
- Open Democracy Russia openDemocracy is an independent global media platform. Through reporting and analysis of social and political issues, openDemocracy seeks to educate citizens to challenge power and encourage democratic debate across the world. With human rights as our central guiding focus, and open-mindedness as our method, we ask tough questions about freedom, justice and democracy.
- Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty RFE/RL's mission is to promote democratic values and institutions by reporting the news in countries where a free press is banned by the government or not fully established. Includes Russia, Central Asia, Eastern Europe, the Caucasus, and the Balkans.
- REESWeb Indexed collection of annotated links of electronic resources pertaining to Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union. Can be searched by keyword or browsed under culture, region, and/or time period in addition to a subject.
- Russia Votes Present uptodate monthly results for monthly Russian surveys; trend analyses from August, 1999, a month before Vladimir Putin became prime minister; and information about the Russian elections.
- Russian History Websites An illustrated collection of sites and online full-text books on the history of the Romanovs, Russian art and architecture.
- Russnet Russnet, the Russian Language Network, is a Russian-Language field resource center. Russnet provides Russian-language learning services and products - information, language modules, courses, materials, in-service teacher training, databases, discussion forums, and gateways to other Russian language resources. Russnet's key component is the Virtual Classroom where teachers can manage classes, students and create Russian Language activities for their students to complete.
- School of Russian and Asian Studies Has "Resources for Russia Related Study" including a free newsletter with original articles and interviews on Russian language and culture, news and analysis, and free interactive Russian lessons and the online scholarly journal, BЕСТНИК (Vestnik): The Journal of Russian and Asian Studies.
- University of Wisconsin-Madison Center for Russia, East Europe & Central Asia Has a great "Resources" page with Newsletter Archive, Lecture Archive, Web Resources, and links to other area studies centers.
