Subject Guides
Russian and East European Studies
Guide Contents
Subject Librarian
Russian Museum Collections
Gallery of high-resolution artwork images from the State Hermitage Museum. Users can search or browse.
Located in Saint Petersburg, the world's largest collection of Russian art.
In Russian or English. Site lets you search the Tretyakov Museum's collections for images of icons, paintings, drawings, sculpture and other works of art.
Russian Libraries
- Digital Library of the National Library of RussiaOpen and generally accessible information resource. Includes over 650,000 scanned copies of books, magazines, newspapers, music publications, graphic materials, maps, plans, atlases, and audio recordings.
- Russian State LibraryDigital collections: the Universal Collection (editions published after 1830), Early Printed Books (printed before 1830), Dissertations, Music Scores, and manuscripts (works dated 10th-18th century).
United States and European Libraries
British Library:
Duke University:
Russian Posters Collection, 1919-1989 and undated
Americans in the Land of Lenin: Documentary Photographs of Early Soviet Russia, 1919-1930
French National Research Agency (ANR) (funding entity):
Sound Archives : European Memories of the Gulag
Harvard University:
The Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System
International Institute of Social History:
The Chairman Smiles (Soviet/Chinese/Cuban Posters)
Library of Congress:
Brumfield Collection (pre-Soviet architecture)
Fenton Crimean War Photographs
Meeting of the Frontiers/Встреча на границах (American exploration/settlement of West, the parallel exploration/settlement of Siberia and the Russian Far East, and meeting of the Russian-American frontier in Alaska and the Pacific Northwest).
Polish Declarations of Admiration and Friendship for the United States
Prokudin-Gorskiĭ photograph collection (Russian Empire 1909-1915)
New York Public Library's Slavic and Baltic Digital Collections:
Russia and Eastern Europe in Rare Photographs, 1860- 1945
Swarthmore College:
University of Michigan:
Polar Bear Expedition Digital Collections (American military intervention in Archangel, Russia at end of WWI)
University of Pittsburgh
Stalinka: Digital Library of Staliniana (Stalin and Stalinism)
University of Wisconsin Madison:
Islam and Eurasia: Bridging the Information Divide (travel accounts of Muslim regions of Russian Empire)
University of Wisconsin Milwaukee:
Images of Russia and Caucasus Region 1929-1933
Yale University:
Cold War Diplomacy : Defense Treaties of the U.S.
Nazi-Soviet Relations 1939-1941
Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars
Other
- Russian Archives Online Rare Russian archival footage and still images from Russia and the fifteen republics of the former Soviet Union, including Soviet Russia, Ukraine, Georgia, Latvia, Estonia, Uzbek and many more.
- World Digital Library The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures. Materials include, but are not limited to, manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings. WDL items can be browsed by place, time, topic, type of item, language, and contributing institution. The search feature can be used to search all of the metadata and descriptions and the full text of printed books on the site.
