Subject Guides
Political Science
Guide Contents
Primary Sources
Databases
- Human Rights Studies OnlineA research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event.
- U.S. Declassified Documents OnlineThis collection is made up of U.S. government documents obtained from presidential libraries. These libraries receive declassified documents from various government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department, and others.
- Digital National Security ArchiveDeclassified U.S. government documents, providing vital primary source material to advance research in twentieth and twenty-first century history, politics, and international relations, covering events from the Berlin Crisis to post-9/11 U.S. intelligence.
- ProQuest CongressionalAccess to legislative publications including Congressional Hearings (parts A-D), U.S. Bills and Resolutions (2014-2018), laws, reports, documents, prints, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and member and committee information.
Books
Blackstone's International Human Rights Documents by Call Number: K 3238 .B58 2010
Reports & News
- Amnesty International Reports
Documents human rights situations in 155 countries with regional summaries. Website covers 1993 - present.
Bartle Library has annual reports from 1977 to present (Bartle Ref JC571 .A46).
- Country Reports on Human Rights Practices (U. S. State Department)
U. S. State Department reports submitted to Congress annually that summarize the individual, civil, political, female, and worker rights in all countries of the world. Website covers 1999 - present.
These are also available as "Committee Prints & Misc Publications" through the Proquest Congressional
database, along with related documents. Bartle Library has 1979 -2008 in print (Bartle Ref JC571 .C68).
- Human Rights Library (University of Minnesota)
Gateway to primary source documents, treaties, human rights search engines, NGOs, etc.
- Human Rights Watch Reports
The definitive non-governmental organization devoted to tracking human rights conditions worldwide. Web site contains annual reports from 1996 to the present (2005), thematic reports, and current news releases, updated daily.
- Westlaw Next
European Union and Great Britian human rights case law.
