Subject Guides
- Binghamton University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Online Reference Shelf
- Polling Data & Public Opinion
- Polling data, public opinion & news
Polling Data & Public Opinion
Sources for US and international polling data, public opinions and news sources.
U.S. Public Opinion
- Roper Public Center for Public Opinion Data & ResearchRoper iPoll provides the largest collection of US polling data, back to 1935, covering topics ranging from opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs and more.
- ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) Data ArchiveProvides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. For more information see Data Services for Social Sciences.
- Marist College Institute for Public OpinionResearch center that provides information on elections, policy, and popular issues for the public.
- Pew Research Center on People & the PressIndependent, non-partisan public opinion research organization that studies attitudes toward politics, the press and public policy issues.
- Polling ReportNon-partisan site that collects polling data from a variety of sources and organizes it by topic.
- Quinnipiac University Polling InstitutePolling research known for its exactness and thoroughness.
- World Public Opinion: United States and CanandaComprehensive analyses of US public opinion.
Help:
- Polling FundamentalsWhat is a poll, sampling, error and reading tables.
U.S. Political News
- CQ MagazineFull coverage of U.S. Congress; useful for accessing current news and analysis on Congress and public policy issues. Useful for tracking votes and legislation, locating recent documents and member information. Covers 1983 - Use CQ Almanac (Bartle Ref JK 1.C66) for older data.
- Inside Politics -CNN/Time
Contains up-to-date analyses from of politics, news, issues, polls, elections. Includes links to Time and a news archive.
- Stateline.org
News from all states about policy and politics.
- National Conference of State Legislatures
Bipartisan group that serves as a forum for issues relating to state/federal relations.
- U. S. Congress Votes Database
Site also publishes an RSS feed of recent votes by each member of Congress, and a feed of the most recent votes in both chambers. Database of every vote in the United States Congress since the 102nd Congress (1991). Can view the results by the Congress or the individual.
- News Resources
Newspapers, newswire and other news sources.
World Public Opinion & News
- Roper Public Center for Public Opinion Data & ResearchRoper iPoll provides the largest collection of US polling data, back to 1935, covering topics ranging from opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs and more.
- Afrobarometer
Non-partisan research center that conducts regular surveys in African nations on a wide variety of topics. Web site contains surveys, results, working papers, briefing papers, and data.
- LAPOP - Latin American Public Opinion Project
Project has systematically surveyed the citizens of Latin America on their political views—specifically on democratic values and their behaviors related to democracy since 1974. Web site contains full reports (current and archival) as .pdf files and also downloadable data sets.
- Latinobarometro
Annual public opinion survey of residents of 18 Latin American countries published by the Latinobarometro Corporation, a nonprofit NGO from Chile. Web site contains survey summaries from 1995 to the present. Payment is required to download and analyze the data sets online
- Pew Global Attitudes Project
Includes reports and surveys covering a wide variety of subjects about people's attitudes and opinions from around the world on a wide variety of topics. Includes the Pew Global Attitudes Project Key Indicators Database, an interactive database that allows exploration of world trends on topics.
- WorldPublicOpinion.org
Source of in-depth information and analysis on public opinion from around the world on international issues. Topics include aid, development, environment, human rights, justice, and more.
